Poets logo

A Brush With Death

A Hair Raising Poem

By Earl W. PearlPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

My girlfriend’s finally gone insane

She’s well outside her mind

Despite this drama, I remain

Though lately it’s a grind

She’s so unhappy, so upset

Bat crazy to be fair

That bug-eyed stare I won’t forget

And all because of HAIR

She battles like it’s all out war

I try to lend support

She’ll trim it, look, and cut some more

Then say “It’s still too short”

Tonight I’ll join this raving lass

For drinks out on the town

She preps before a mirrored glass

That mirror’s coming down

A curdling bleet, was that a goat

Did she just speak in tongues

I heard some words I’ll never quote

As long as I have lungs

Did Satan somehow enter in

To tease that frizzy mess

Demonic sounds emit a din

That walls cannot suppress

I’m barging in, I’ve heard enough

What hell awaits beyond

I find her well but looking rough

This Asian, (mostly) blonde

She shouts at me excitedly

Completely out of breath

“You’ll never guess who called on me

I had a brush with Death”

©️ Earl W. Pearl - 03/17/2023

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) for about 7 years and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I really like this. And gotta love the title and photo. Very clever and humorous. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.