Poets logo

A Blurry Truth

08/23/20

By Emery PinePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

08/23/20

There’s this boy I used to know,

With chocolate brown eyes…

Or… maybe they were sea green-blue.

I can’t quite remember.

He had dark brown curls…

Or maybe it was blondish-brown and straight?

With dimples when he smiled…

Unless I’m misremembering…

I can’t be quite sure.

He had a gap between his top, middle teeth…

Either that or a snaggletooth for his top right canine…

But I don’t really know.

He moved to Texas when he was 12…

Or maybe he was born here…

He loved playing sports…

Or it might’ve been video games he loved.

It was one of those, anyways.

He gave up on loving me…

Or maybe he never fully started.

It was a long time ago.

But I do know this:

He was 5’10”.

He smiled in a way that took my breath away.

He had a way of keeping me together.

He gave me a reason to live.

He filled the empty parts of me like unworldly puzzle pieces.

I loved him like my life depended on it,

Like I was made to show him Heaven.

The problem is that he’s gone now,

Too far gone for God to exist.

And I am left here,

To love and lose and love and lose.

And I wonder

If he will ever love me long enough not to melt away like ice.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emery Pine

I’m a poet with sprinklings of fiction. I write with the soul, so I hope you find it interesting and relatable

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.