Poets logo

A Bittersweet Recipe

in loving dedication

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2022
58

This poem is dedicated to my late grandmother. We shared so much time in the kitchen together, especially making cookies. I have many of her recipes and cookie cutters which I've shared with my own children. I think of her every time we use them, and this Christmas was no different. Thank you, grandma, for the lasting memories of love and joy.

____________________________________________________

Swirling script and smudged ink

Scrawled across worn

Pieces of pressed pulp.

The stains from loving use,

Notes on the side,

And careful measurements

Hold joy, frustration,

And time well spent.

Memories, prone to fade,

Carry on vividly in my senses

Despite the details

Remaining just on the fringe

Of my mind's eye.

The warmth of the kitchen

A balm to my soul.

The smell of butter, sugar and

Vanilla creaming together.

The sound of treasure–

Our sweet conversations

In between the whir of a mixer.

The taste of the divine

Wrapped in the shape of a cookie.

The strength in your hug

As we say good-bye

At the day's end,

Now bittersweet 'til we meet again.

Memories like these

Passed to each new generation.

Your legacy of love

Lives on.

* * * * * * * *

If you liked this piece, please take a look at another one of my poems:

vintage
58

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colmabout a year ago

    This is wonderful! Only just read. I enjoyed it a lot and it makes me think of my own grandma and growing up with her in the kitchen. 😊 Beautifully worded.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    You are such a great writer.

  • Jollyoddbod Poetryabout a year ago

    For a magical moment I was taken back, thank you for sharing Heather.

  • Katieabout a year ago

    Beautifully written. It made me so nostalgic <3

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    Thanks for the memories. I could smell the baking of many cookies.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Beautiful, I love this.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • tharunabout a year ago

    So heartfelt

  • Poppy about a year ago

    Absolutely beautiful

  • Caitlin Roseabout a year ago

    So heartfelt. Thank you for sharing these lovely memories.

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    Recipes of love. Traditions are important. My sister makes some of the cookies my mom used to bake. When I eat a filled mince meat cookie I think of her.

  • Funmi about a year ago

    This is beautiful and delicious at the same time 😆

  • Whatsapp Full statesabout a year ago

    Lovely writing. So heartwarming. Congratulations on Top Story! very happy

  • This comment has been deleted

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Lovely writing. So heartwarming. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    So beautiful Heather. Congratulations on your Top Story.

  • Kenny Pennabout a year ago

    This is such a wonderful heart warming poem, thank you for sharing

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Now you've made us all miss our Nanna's! Very nice piece!

  • Diani Alvarengaabout a year ago

    This was a very lovely poem! ❤️

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    I can feel this. I was a little boy when my grandmother died. But I have her sweat memories in my head. She was my care taker and above all she was my little world.

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    This was a vividly sewn piece that is felt and breathed in! Hearted!! Congratulations on this beautiful top story!!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    gorgeous piece of nostalgia. Congrats on the top story.

  • Carol Townendabout a year ago

    This is very beautiful Heather. It reminded me of my own Grandmother who loved baking. Thankyou for reminding me of a happy time in my past.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.