Poets logo

A Bad Dream

A Journey Through a Troublesome Dream

By Amna AsgharPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
A Bad Dream
Photo by Michal Ico on Unsplash

In the depths of night, as shadows creep,

I found myself lost in a realm of sleep.

A bad dream unfolded, a haunting scene,

Where darkness reigned, engulfing the serene.

In that forsaken world, all colors turned gray,

Twisted nightmares began to play.

The air grew heavy, laden with despair,

As my heart trembled with an eerie glare.

Through misty haze, figures emerged,

Monstrous shapes that made my spirit surge.

Fear clutched my throat, a chilling grip,

As I struggled against this dream's cruel trip.

In this surreal realm, time stood still,

Every step forward felt like an uphill.

Faces distorted, twisted in pain,

Their hollow eyes etching an indelible stain.

I sought an escape, a route to flee,

From this dreadful dream that held onto me.

But the walls closed in, suffocatingly tight,

Trapping me deeper in this endless night.

Yet even amidst the darkest hour,

A glimmer of hope began to flower.

With each breath, I summoned courage anew,

To face the shadows, and see this dream through.

The power of my mind, a weapon to wield,

I conjured strength, refusing to yield.

In the face of fear, I mustered might,

For I knew that dreams, in time, take flight.

As dawn's gentle rays pierced through the haze,

I awakened from that treacherous maze.

The bad dream's grip began to fade,

Replaced by the warmth of reality's aid.

Though the memory lingers, a lingering stain,

I rise above, embracing joy over pain.

For bad dreams remind us, in their grim decree,

That waking moments hold precious, the key.

To cherish each day, as blessings they seem,

And chase away darkness, with hope's gleaming beam.

For even in bad dreams, we find the might,

To conquer our fears and embrace the light.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amna Asghar

Discovering life's magic through writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.