Poets logo

9:29 AM

Thinking of a beloved matriarch...

By Veronica WilliamsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Shades of green remind me of you,

and tiny details fill my head.

"She'd love this,"

"She'd sit here,"

"She'd definitely say that"—

and the universe is strange without you.

Just when I think I'm set to forget,

I think of all the perfect parts:

Soft hands with divine touch,

Perfect hugs to soothe the soul,

Nameless songs,

and pieces of string in every chair.

Flawless meals,

and gently stirred tea,

jammin' to our favorite songs.

Everything is so different,

and the baby steps seem so far apart.

Why's it so hard

to let go of mother's hand?

"It had to happen"

just doesn't seem good enough.

Human simplicity has made me selfish,

has made me love deeply,

has made me realize life's complexities

can't all be answered logically.

The greatest love I've known

Carried my soul,

healed my heart,

and made comparisons impossible.

She knew who I was

long before the world named me.

Without her, the journey to find my strength

and myself

cannot stop.

She didn't cultivate so that I could give up.

Yet in her tenderness,

she planted a sensitive,

reflective seed...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Williams

Chicagoan in TN. Currently married to the night and looking for coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.