Poets logo

9.26

A Beautiful Mistake

By Adeline TCPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
"Dime Algo Lindo"

The space around me now feels vacant

The echo of where your energy used to be

Such small amount of time, an ever growing impression

has left you stained upon my mind.

I look for you in all the places I know you'll never be

Missing the outline of your face I conjure you in my sleep

If only just feel you in my dreams, the kind of torture

that brings with it the temporary illusion of peace.

I ask the questions. Why? Why am I attracted to your type of Man?

I ask the questions & pretend I don't already know the answers first hand.

Why is it that when I fall in love I always seem to find myself drowning in quicksand?

So warm in your hands must be because I'm sinking so quickly

not even thinking

no longer concerned with the action of breathing.

Infatuated. Intoxicated. I lived off the very way you looked at me.

Taking all my breath I'd starve for just one more chance for one more glance.

But you kissed me with stolen lips, the caress of your eyes taking in a forbidden prize, touching me with hands that belonged on either side of another's hips.

You told me of a love in far off & distant land

making it that much easier to let the lie stand

Now dead and gone, it's the lesson left in your wake that lives on

I thought I'd never recover. Out of touch and unplugged

missing the moments of my life that needed my me

A Beautiful Mistake hiding in naivety. I know now how deadly quicksand can be and yet...

I keep looking for your face in all the places I know you'll never be.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.