Poets logo

7 Minutes of Solitude

for a mother

By Donna ReneePublished about a year ago 1 min read
15
7 Minutes of Solitude
Photo by Zach Lezniewicz on Unsplash

4:59am

She creeps past the door behind which the sound machine gently roars

She silently descends the dusty staircase in the dark

She steps over the train tracks, the monster trucks, and the baby dolls

until she finally reaches the coffee pot

5:02am

She clutches the mug from the pottery stand from that trip so long ago

She breathes in the aroma of steaming coffee, burns her tongue, and tries to remember

how long it must have been since she got to drink it while it was still a little too hot?

5:04am

She sits and slowly sinks into the peanut butter smeared cushions

She pulls a blanket up over her sweatpants that were clean three days ago

and settles into the corner that used to be her favorite

before the toddler decided it was the best place to store the cheerios

5:05am

She grabs the remote but doesn't turn the TV on

because that would ruin everything.

5:06am

It was nice while it lasted.

sad poetry
15

About the Creator

Donna Renee

Hi! Thanks for reading! My hobbies include making coffee, drinking coffee, and starting to write a story and then rage-deleting it when I get the slightest bit frustrated.

Work in Progress: WOWH, cozy mystery (paranormal elements)

INSTAGRAM

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Thanks for the memories- and the nightmares... 😉

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    This could only be written by a mother. The struggle and joy is real. LOL!!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I loved that. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been woken up by my six year old asking me if its up time yet😂

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I am an early bird myself , so I can relate

  • Nichelle Calhounabout a year ago

    Love your style. I am right there on this morning wake-up journey. Those moments as self only are spiritual.

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    OMGOSH! I totally feel this! Love it! I have subscribed. :)

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I felt this more and more as it progressed. And you gotta love the peanut butter smeared cushions. Hope you get a solid ten minutes next time solitude calls.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    You nailed this. A clever way of presenting a moment of life.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Omg! This is just mesmerizing in its accuracy and sweet depiction of beautiful chaos. :) I agree with Paul - I really love how you included the time shots :)

  • Wilkie Stewartabout a year ago

    A lovely moment

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    As the parent that did the nighttime feeds for my children...I can relate to this. I am not sure any mother would deny that it is like this though! Beautifully expressed and vivid descriptions. I loved the timestamps and then how it all wrapped up. You have a new subscriber!

  • I guess this is what motherhood is like. Very beautifully written! I loved it!

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    What a refreshing snapshot of life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.