Poets logo

3 Reasons Why

Suicide is not an option

By Daniel Oconnor Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

One day I’ll rise

Stand and dress

Hear no more cries

Or feel any less

I’ll be stronger

In my mind

Cut cleaner

More refined

The devil in me

And the demons to

Will let me free

And not think of you

For now I close my eyes

Each and every time

Next to you he lies

You pay me no mind

I don’t want to be here today

Let alone tomorrow

Death must be the way

To ease all my sorrow

But I can’t leave behind

Those which we have made

Have them scatter my ashes

Where I want to be laid

Life is so short

Eternity is not

When happiness is fraught

With loss then what

The battle within

Is won and then lost

Me giving in

Knowing the cost

A price you will pay

All you left behind

One broken day

The pieces you’ll find

Ragged and worn

With deep scratches of hate

Bereft and forlorn

My soul as of late

As I picture you two

They too pass in my mind

Because of those few

The strength I will find

I will not be a nothing

A no one no more

To you I am something

I’ll live for you four

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Oconnor

My passion is words, when I write it usually takes no more than half an hour to bring to life what I’m thinking... if I leave it inside my head i obsess over the thoughts and they transform into something I can’t express...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.