Poets logo

#22

Hope

By Timothy BlackPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

In a dark cloud, I walk, of pondering

Cold steel in hand, what a smooth way to end

Twenty-one found themselves surrendering

Chambering the round, this steel is my friend

Shared by the others suffering the same

Waterfall of tears, smooth stream never ends

Cold steel, chambered, at the read… I take aim

Wait! Whispers in my ear, soft hope befriends

I can’t, I can’t – not today, hope brings tomorrow

Twenty-two I would, twenty-two not I

To Hope’s whispers I reached out to borrow

Another day. Don’t let the others die!

–Brother, friend we failed to knock at your door

Whispers, aren’t always enough, easy to ignore

In the chaos of the heart and mind, you found peace

Always in our heart, tomorrow’s cause will not cease

Dedicated to Logan Coleman, USN #22

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.