Poets logo

20 in 3 months

A couple of days ago, I realised that I'd be twenty in three months. So, I started thinking about life. Last year before turning nineteen, I promised myself to become a better version of myself, and I did. I've been working on my mental and physical health for a previous couple of months. A couple of months before, I struggled mentally and was trying to find myself. I feel like many people my age are struggling with finding themselves. We are being pressured to achieve things in life, but we are not proper adults yet. So, I wrote this poem about what I was feeling and thinking when I was eighteen going to nineteen, but in this case, I'm nineteen going to twenty.

By Lika TsoiPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

I'm turning twenty in three months, and I don't know how I feel.

I haven't found my one true love, and I don't know if it's real.

My mental health's been somewhat rough. I haven't slept in weeks.

I cannot eat; I skip my meals and drown myself in drinks.

I don't know what to do in life and how to achieve my dreams.

Being an adult is for sure not as easy as it seems.

My room's a mess, just like my life. I don't want it to be clean.

When people say that life is fun, what do they actually mean?

I stay in bed most of the time and watch some stupid shows.

I stay up late then sleep all day; that's how my life now goes.

I stopped talking to my friends. I don't know what to say.

Every morning I wake up, and my life seems sad and grey.

I'm scared of turning twenty and not achieving much in life.

I wish my life were just as easy as it was when I was five.

I don't want to overthink what other people say.

I know it messes with my brain, but I do it anyway.

I feel so pressured all the time. I'm never good enough.

I wish I knew what was wrong with me. I know my life's not tough.

Some people struggle every day to find something to eat.

I starve myself on purpose, such an ungrateful kid.

I've got too much free time in life, that's why I'm always so upset.

I'm not depressed; I want attention. That's what my dad once said.

I'm not upset because I'm bored. I don't know why I feel so sad.

I struggle with my mental health. I wish he'd understand.

I'm not asking for your attention. I would rather be alone.

But you make it hard for me to feel myself at home.

I'm mentally exhausted of keep playing pretend.

Maybe if not here, out there somewhere, they could understand.

I'm turning twenty in three months. I want to cry and scream.

I want to find my inner peace. I hate being nineteen.

I want to get my life on track and start chasing my dreams.

Maybe I'll find my one true love and find out how it feels.

Maybe I'll start enjoying life and stop avoiding food.

Maybe I'll stop letting others affect my health and mood.

When I'm twenty, I will do better and change for the best.

Right now, I need to take it slow and need to get some rest.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lika Tsoi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.