Poets logo

‘20

IHYRT

By ACPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Jeff was your name

And playing games was your aim

Not like tag or red rover

Something much more: like pain

Yes, that was your game

And you took aim right at me

But what you didn’t know, darling

I wrote the rule book on pain

You thought you had me fooled,

Up at night with my thoughts

Sipping coffee on the window sill

My mind filled with a lot

Getting dressed in the morning

You’d hope I’d be down

And saying to myself, “I’m so lucky he picked me”

And you would kiss away my frown

But that day I left,

Walked out your door & said goodbye

You were so confused

As you thought I’d be the first to cry

Did you know,

Assassins don’t let out tears?

They just smile to themselves and say “job well done”

While you find out your own worst fears

Looks like I won,

I wrote the rules you thought were yours

How does it feel, knowing your best played match ended in defeat

And your game plan went off course

Do you see what I’ve done?

You were so wrapped up in me

I’ve called the shots from the beginning

And I was & still am, on your mind living rent free

⇎ac

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

AC

I pull all of my inspiration for my poems from different people & experiences I’ve come across in my life. Not all reflect my own personal stories. I hope you enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.