Poets logo

1997

The year social media was made

By AstroPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

1997 I arrived,

I wanted to get people in touch but i'm sorry for what derived.

I wanted the people to come together,

day or night I wanted mankind to mingle through the weather.

I wanted to be something like a safe haven,

but the death toll rose I don't understand who I'm supposed to be saving.

My voice has been replaced now,

and i'm drowned the generation that created me is still looking down.

I didn't mean to cause all those suicides,

I set rules and fines,

they beat around the bush and stepped outside the guidelines,

when will they learn that that doesn't lead to the silverlines.

I had pure intention,

now that little boy's dead because of an @ mention.

That middle school girls taking a beating from the world,

now she's going nuts like a squirrel,

I have a feeling that to be justified the predator needs more than a referral.

Its all for what that picture looks like,

the people reported it but this happens every day these actions take time.

But if you want to get back at them I might ignore a flag or two,

if you do to them what they did to you.

But then again you can be the bigger person,

keep your head held high I don't really understand emotion.

I'm pretty sure that don't stop the pain from hurting,

because I know inside you’re burning.

I'm the cause of it,

the truth can kill and I don't want to be involved with it.

I think I should just delete myself,

but then again for the ones with no outlet how will you free yourselves.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Astro

My names Astro and I have a dream of having my own anime one day. Hope you enjoy my story. Oh and I also love writing poetry and songs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.