Poets logo

1000 Shades of Ebony

A poem dedicated to the diversity and strength of all woman of color.

By Aadya AwenPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Thousand Shades of Ebony

Beautiful as can be

Graceful as anything you'll ever see

Strong as a bull or a giant

Like a mule filled with defiance

Yes I am a lighter shade of black

And yes I am proud of that

To be a shade of something so strong

To be from a heritage thats been around for so long

From ancestors that has went through greats

Conquered and destroyed those evil gates

That has tried to keep us chained

Tried to steal our heritage

Managed to steal our name

For Stereotypes surround us for those I can't stop

But I'll rise above them and reside on top

For I am the past, present, and future of my people

I am one who still fights to be equal

Because I am Proud of me

Standing here strong 1000 shades of ebony

Who will NEVER stand for a REPEAT in history.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Aadya Awen

19 Years old.

Poetically Gifted on a Spiritual Mission.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.