Poets logo

100 Fathoms Deep

Punishment for Poverty

By Phillip MoorePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I was watching a video with Kamala Harris and she used a term that was very interesting, so much that it inspired a poem.

Punishment for Poverty

You punish me for the poverty

that you systematically put me in.

so not only my skin color,

but my bank account is my sin?

no golden parachute, no inside trading of stocks

or money bulging and falling out of a safe deposit box.

No secret bank account on a remote island location.

Just still a victim of financial discrimination.

There needs to be a financial revolution across this land.

No bail, better wages, and affordable housing should be in demand.

Enough with the voter suppression

and other underhanded schemes.

A United States of America shouldn't

be something I just see in my dreams.

Keeping it together during

this financially stormy weather

is even harder than it seems.

© 12/22/2020, Phillip L. Moore

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Phillip Moore

I'm an author and poet willing to share my thoughts and opinions with the world.

Are you ready to dive in?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.