Poets logo

100% exactly me.

Thoughts on a birthday morning...

By michelle stuartPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
100% exactly me.
Photo by Arnold Mécses on Unsplash

Today is a special day,

for it is my birthday

I am neither 6 nor 7

I am grown up 11

My shoes are too small.

I am getting quite tall.

From what I am told

Mom is feeling old

Dad lives elsewhere

Maybe he doesn’t care.

My brother is sixteen.

Tall, lanky and mean

My best friend is Kate.

She said she would be late.

I don’t care for balloons.

Or stupid cartoons

I like to paint pictures

with colourful mixtures

My eyes are like grandmas.

My attitude is grandpas.

My favourite book is Coraline.

I've never had a valentine.

I tried out for the swimming team

Swimming is my mother's dream

I would like to be a YouTube star

They drive fancy cars

I wonder how much money dad makes

Mom said he’ll pay for his mistakes

If I had a dollar

For every holler

My dog's name is Peewee.

He's actually big, so it's funny.

I hate that it's my birthday.

Maybe dad will come and stay.

I think I will wear makeup today

Spring colours for May

Pink blush and pink lip gloss

Maybe I will even floss

I'm not wearing that stupid dress.

I don’t know…I’ll wear it, I guess

I hope I get a new tablet from dad

He buys stuff cause he feels bad

I get to eat what I want for breakfast

I noticed cake on my mom's grocery list

I think it's still early, only 7:00 am

I really don’t want to fall asleep again

I have bad dreams every night.

The doctor said it isn’t right.

Mom has pills that she makes me take

They help me calm down, so I'm not awake

I like a girl her name is Jen

I've liked her since I was ten

Mom thinks it is my choice.

Dad thinks I should like boys.

A boy at school killed himself.

He used the gun from his dads' shelf.

I don’t know if I should be sad

I guess I feel kinda bad

Mom thinks social media is to blame

All kids want is fame.

I don’t even have a phone.

I can’t use the laptop when I'm alone.

Dad lets me get away with more

Cause of his whore (moms words)

I drew a picture of a tree

It was tall and old and full of bees

I got stung on my birthday last year

I didn’t shed a tear

My brother seems to be mad at mom

He says he gets where dads coming from

Mom still cries herself to sleep.

She kept the house, and dad took the Jeep.

What is a whore anyway?

I know its a word I can’t say

We had a gun drill at school on Wednesday

Cause a kid shot four students last Friday

If I get shot, I hope it isn’t my head

A boy at school said that guarantees you're dead

Maybe we should all wear helmets at school

bulletproof outfits would be cool

No wonder I have bad dreams.

No wonder everyone screams

I hope Jen comes over for a slice of chocolate cake

Mom ordered it special; she hates to bake

I heard dad say that we are delicate flowers

A generation of kids without any power

I think I'm too young.

To have to worry about guns.

I am too aware

That the world is in despair

I watched a movie yesterday.

About a boy who comes out as gay

His parents had a difficult time.

It was in the nineties, a different time.

I hope that I will grow up to be

100 percent exactly me

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

michelle stuart

Just a girl with a head full of dreams

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.