Poets logo

10:16 PM

Confession poems are hard.

By LIFE MAZIPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Chuttersnap on Unsplash

I've given up trying to fight with the universe

And I'm now submitting to it but sulking as I do so

Because in my art I don't want to immerse.

It hurts.

But between the universe and I, I guess one of us doesn't want me to feel worse.

You see, I'm not hungry but I have food in front of me because of my curse.

I eat until the food comes back up, in reverse.

Until I look like I'm carrying three children in my womb - the human purse.

Please tell me I can get my body to inverse.

I promise to starve you tomorrow - that way you will be reimbursed.

Your host has force-fed and tortured you, only because she wants her emotions to disperse.

But this time round the food is half eaten. This is a first.

At 10:15 I thought I could escape in my food and coerce

These thoughts and feelings to burst

And stop existing.

Instead, nothing is going my way

and I can't ignore the universe's command to pick up this phone and type away.

She told me I must admit my flaws as a way to pave

My gateway to a better place.

And now that I'm here, it's time to use these fingers to say

I feel shit because I crave someone else to make my day

To make me feel worthy and as though in this life I can stay.

A voice in my head tells me to crawl into a highway

And be slayed.

The same voice that tells me I am worthless and unloved - I know you've heard it before. It's become cliche.

I don't want this to be the case.

"I need to be alone!" I exclaim.

With this, I lie to my own face.

I feel bad about wanting to love so

In my bad habits, I would rather bathe.

It is now 11:11 and I have nothing else to say.

This poem has only made me feel worse,

As it reminds me of my mistakes.

Ohwell, fuck it! Let me find a way to escape.

After all, tomorrow is so close and it is

A whole new day...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

LIFE MAZI

A RELIC OF GROWTH

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.