Poets logo

10,000 days

One day

By Katie Published about a year ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
8
10,000 days
Photo by Sebastien Gabriel on Unsplash

Do I have ten thousand days yet to live?

Do I have one day yet to live?

To weigh a day against how many I may have yet to live, should I waste it working?

What small minded people I fill my days with, it’s a wonder I haven’t left.

Bolting for the door, screaming, my anguish poring out of me in tortured laughter. Never to return.

They have no clue, their world spins differently than mine.

They are happy in their ignorance.

My tolerance of them grows thin though, easily seen with my sometimes sarcastic remarks. On those days when I’ve just had enough.

Luckily my work keeps me sane, that and an end date in mind.

Giving me a measure of freedom. To push back a little, against this machine that grinds so many to dust.

Ten thousand days is not so many, and the silver I weigh against them has little value.

social commentary
8

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberry11 months ago

    The last line pulls everything together so nicely and succinctly!

  • J. Delaney-Howe11 months ago

    Last line left me thinking. Great job!

  • JBaz11 months ago

    'Ten thousand days is not so many, and the silver I weigh against them has little value.' What a brilliant line

  • Shane Dobbie11 months ago

    Working to afford to go to work. There must be a better way

  • Loryne Andawey11 months ago

    Some people only realize how much they want to live when death stares them in the face. 10,000 days. That is not long at all.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.