Photography logo

The Exceptional Nature of Candid Photography

What I discovered on a random trail for re-living cherished memories forever... With nothing but your mobile phone.

By Mari BrooksPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

There’s a different kind of beauty in capturing moments without planning.

Modern technology gives us this incredible opportunity to create lifelong physical memories at the snap of our fingers (or, the push of a button). We can capture moments anytime without wasting a second, using a device that fits in our pockets. We can re-live fleeting, intimate moments that may have otherwise left our memories if we hadn’t decided to pull out our phones and snap a quick picture. Think about the random events in your life that you only remember because someone took a picture. Don't you wish there were more?

Finding our path

I probably have a whole album’s worth of pictures of my dog and my boyfriend exploring new trails. We have a very active german shepherd, and we like to take her on hikes to burn off some of her energy. Last summer we decided to try a new trail every weekend. This was our "vacation". We were both starting our careers and couldn't take time off to travel, so we chose this instead. However, a new adventure every weekend? That was as good as a vacation for me.

This trail, in particular, was the Cambridge to Paris Rail Trail, which we stumbled upon completely by accident. We wanted to escape our boring small town for a while so we hopped in the car and started driving. It was perfect, care-free, summertime fun. We sipped on iced coffee and laughed at our dog's tongue billowing in the wind through the backseat window as we sped aimlessly through the backroads. We had no destination, and that was he fun of it. We were in a state of pure bliss.

About 40 minutes into our expedition, we had to snap out it. Our pooch was loudly announcing to us that she very suddenly had to pee.

We pulled over at the next shoulder and realized we had parked our car at an entrance to a new trail. The sign said it was 18km long and included many scenic lookouts, so naturally, we were aching to check it out. We couldn't do it then because we were losing daylight, but the following weekend we went back bright and early.

Photo taken from Murray Overlook on the trail

The beauty of candid

I tend to get really engrossed in nature when we’re out on trails like this. I usually get distracted by some birds or an interesting looking plant, and I lag behind.

I see this as the opposite of a problem.

When I snap back into it, I get to see this beautiful moment between my boyfriend and my pup. It’s a moment of pure curiosity, love, and adventure, and it’s my favorite thing to watch. It’s also my favorite thing to remember. So I take a photo.

I love capturing candid moments this way because you just don’t get the same feeling when you pose everybody. When I look back at these pictures I feel like I’m transported back to that very moment. I can feel the hot sun coming through the trees and the cool breeze blowing through my hair. I can hear the sound of my feet hitting the wooden stairs. I can see my dog furiously sniffing every single blade of grass as if her life depends on it, and my boyfriend struggling to keep up. I’m living this moment that I’ve caught in time all over again, complete with the sights, smells, and sounds that reside there. It’s a beautiful thing.

My dog and my boyfriend walking down from the lookout

Capturing a moment

I don't do anything fancy to capture the photo. If I notice a moment and it makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside, I pull out my phone. I fit as much of the scenery as I can into the frame and when my boy and my dog are walking perfectly beside each other, I hit the shutter.

Then I hit it 10 more times.

I know candid photos seem like a moment conveniently and coincidentally captured perfectly in time. In reality, if you don’t take a few safety photos, you might not end up with what you want. You can’t exactly stop to fix someone's hair or move a swaying branch out of the way. Sometimes a split second can make the difference between a horrible photo and an amazing one.

When I edit my photos, I use an app called Fotor. I like it because it gives me access to curves and advanced exposure options that I normally would have to go on my computer for.

This photo took a few changes. Half of it was pretty dark, so I evened out the shadows. I added warmth to the colors and adjusted the curves so the green popped a little more. Finally, I cropped it a little, and voila! My favourite photo.

Before and after editing

My time on this trail was short, but the memories reinforced by the pictures I took will last a lifetime. I use my phone for this all the time, and I’m always grateful for what I capture.

Our smartphones are a gift, and we should take full advantage of the power they give us. Whenever something happens that we want to remember or whenever inspiration strikes, we can create memories that we can share and reminisce about forever. All with a little rectangle we keep in our pockets.

You aren’t missing a moment by pulling out your phone, you’re saving it.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Mari Brooks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.