Photography logo

Cameras for Eyes

Just what is it to be a photographer?

By Lisa IkinPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Ever since I received my first Kodak Instamatic camera at the age of 9 and then consequently shot off my first reel of black and white film which I processed in our home dark room, I have been hooked on photography.

The slightly out-of-focus grainy, black and white images of my friends posing with fixed smiles on their faces and the photos of scenery fascinated me and made me want to take more.

I received a secondhand SLR camera at the age of 12. It was an old leather-bound camera from Germany. My Dad taught me all about f stops and focus and I shot reel after reel of black and white footage.

We lived in remote locations for much of my childhood so developing our own films was somewhat a necessity as well as an art form. I grew to love the smell of the developing fluids and loved the anticipation of watching a picture appear on the glossy paper.

In my 20’s I started to dabble with film and bought a second hand Super 8 camera. I loved the fact that I only had 3 minutes of film ,so every shot counted. There was a real art to making each second of filming something worthwhile. I was always impatiently waiting for the reels to return from Kodak so I could see what I had shot.

The day I purchased my first video camera I felt this incredible freedom because I could film as much as I wanted and edit it later. I had hundreds of those little mini tapes with hours and hours of footage. Putting it together into films was time consuming, sometimes rewarding and I often wished I could go back to having only 3 minutes of film to use sparingly.

I then had children and photography became very much about documenting their lives. I had a series of ”point and shoot” cameras during this time. The setting of f stops and adjusting exposure a thing of the past.

With the arrival of the mobile phone with camera and the growing up of my children I started to take photos for pleasure again. For the sheer love of capturing something that caught my eye. I occasionally thought about getting a “real” camera but didn‘t follow this through until I discovered that I loved bird photography. I would occasionally jag a great photo of an accomodating close-up swan or pelican but the long distance shots were unobtainable for me.

My partner who obviously had listened to me complaining about missing this shot or another bought me a DSLR for my birthday four years ago and I have since spent the budget of a small country purchasing new lenses, upgrading to the next model and my camera is once again my constant. I get those bird shots now and the creative arty shots that catch my eye at every turn.

I am very rarely in front of a camera, always behind. I like to be the observer, the documentor and the provider of memories. Going out with my camera on board means I get to experience my day twice. Once when I am there and then later at home when I am editing my photos.

So, am I a photographer? I don’t take photos for a living but I live to take photos. People tell me that they love my photos but that’s only part of the reason why I take them. When I go out without my camera I always see the perfect shot and I certainly can’t imagine ever being without a camera.

I guess that makes me a photographer and I am destined to be broke for the rest of my life because there is always that one perfect lens!

career
1

About the Creator

Lisa Ikin

Freelance writer, amateur photographer, occasional performer of personal stories @Barefaced Stories. Lover of nature, music and art. I write content and copy for small businesses and teach part time in Perth, Western Australia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.