Petlife logo

The Three Spook-eteers

Tem-purr-amental Cats

By Ariana Yeager Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

While I would love to dress my cats up all the time in cute costumes, they would live their lives hating me for it. I would love to do more creative costumes with my cats, that is if they'd let me.

See the thing is, I could only manage to get them into the costumes pictured above. All three of them act like the world is ending when I go to put a costume on them. It's a process of trying to get the paw in the right hole, only to have my cat pull their paw back out again to restart the process.

The cat to the left is Jake. He is my chonky boy. He's almost two years old now and all he does is eat. We try to keep him on a diet so he doesn't overeat and get sick, but this cat has quite literally learned to tip over the food bowls trying to look for more food, he has mastered the art of finding where we keep the cat food, and he's even climbed on the counter, opened the cupboard and tore through a bag of treats at one point. Anyone would think we are starving this cat by the way he acts. He just has to have every morsel of crumb that's left, and then he looks up at us with these sad eyes when the bowl is empty. Anyways he's pictured in a pumpkin costume which is quite fitting considering he's round enough to resemble a pumpkin. That chonky boy is definitely bottom heavy....lol. But we love him dearly even though he thinks we are trying to starve him when we just don't want him sick and overweight.

The center cat is the newest edition to the family. His full name is Kai-Yoda, because my family loves the show Cobra Kai and Star Wars. He's not even a year old and he's very energetic but very cuddly. You'd think he'd be more willing to let us put him in a costume but when we do he acts stunned and just sits there, probably begging for us to take it off. He's a small little guy and we didn't want to spook him with anything too crazy of a costume his first year so we settled for a simple but halloween patterned costume just to get his paws wet.

The cat to the right is Cruz, he was just a few years old, and I wanted to include him to honor him. That picture isn't from this year but for the years he was with our family my younger sister and him did a Pet Costume contest every year. He was always the only cat there and a little startled but in the picture above, that was the year that he was a tiger and my sister dressed as a Circus Ringmaster. They would enter the Pet-Owner duo section of the contest. My mom would normally have to hold him before it was their turn because Cruz was most comfortable with her. Cruz was more willing to dress up than the other cats, probably because he was more used to it. We miss him dearly and he brought joy to our family and we appreciate his cooperation when we would dress him up for Halloween.

That was a little summery of My Three Spook-eteers! While the costumes are simple, the cuteness is undeniable. Hopefully next year they will let me try something more creative. I hope you enjoyed reading about why we chose the cosutmes that we did and the signifigance of them. Thank you for taking the time to read! Have a happy and spooky Halloween!

cat
1

About the Creator

Ariana Yeager

But, what if it does work out?

She walks through Hell with a smile because she owns her demons.

Don't say why me, say try me.

If you can't beat the fear, do it scared.

You only live once? False. You live everyday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.