Petlife logo

The possums are taking over

This week my pet story is a possum tale

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
31

Definitely not playing possum

I lived in the county until I was 19 and never saw the critters that I am noticing since moving to the city. Deer, turkey vultures, groundhogs, skunks, possums, and raccoons were not a part of my early life and my brother says it's because they had lots of woods to live in. In 2020 at a previous address I saw what I first thought were baby rats near the backyard fence but upon further inspection and looking at pictures on the Internet, I realized they were baby possums playing in the grass. A few days later one of them was lying dead and the others were gone.

When I moved to the house where I now reside several stray casts began coming into the backyard when my grandchildren were around so I occasionally left out food and water for them. My youngest son had warned me this might attract unwanted animals and it took about 6 months before I noticed anything and realized he was correct. I turned on the back porch light a few nights ago and opened the door to see if any of the cats were outside and I saw a possum as big as a dog and I screamed and shut the door. He was at the water bowl at the edge of the carport and his eyes were glowing in the light.

Ellie Mae Clampett

A missing possum

I had noticed for the past 3 or 4 days that the water dish was empty more often than usual but I thought the cats were thirsty because the weather was warmer and thought nothing of it. I read online that possums seek sources of water so the next day I moved the bowls. Today I was told a possums story that had me laughing until I cried and decided to share it. They say truth is stranger than fiction and indeed it is.

A relative told me that yesterday his wife had seen 3 baby possums on the side of the road while they were driving and asked him to stop the car. When he did she grabbed one and said she was going to make it a pet. I replied that a wild animal could have rabies and that he should get rid of it. When I asked how things were going this afternoon I was told that the "cute little baby possum" had bitten the wife and ran off somewhere in the house and they could not find it.

Elmyra

Ellie Mae Clampet is only a television character

My brain says that Ellie Mae Clampett was a fictional character and the animals on The Beverly Hillbillies were trained by professionals and had received all of their necessary shots. My opinion is that this is one of those situations where you do not try it at home but this relative's wife has over time owned birds, dogs, ferrets, and cats. She probably never considered that the possum would bite her.

Now this wild animal is frightened and lost inside of the house. I suggested they set out some food and water to see if the possum would be drawn to it. As of 6 PM this evening it has not shown up.

Every time I think about the baby possum I recall Elvira on Tiny Toon Adventures who was voiced by actress Cree Summer who portrayed Freddie Brooks on A Different World. All the animals ran when they saw her coming because she would pick them up and hold them tightly and say "I'm going to love you ad hug you and squeeze you and take you home." My relative's wife found out the hard way that not all wild creatures want to be loved and hugged and squeezed and taken home.

wild animals
31

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred11 months ago

    Excellent work , we have shared this in Vocal Social Society on Facebook if you would like to join us there

  • Heather N King12 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your article about possums! It's great to see people talking about these interesting animals and their role in our ecosystem. Keep up the good work in spreading awareness about the importance of all animals, big or small.

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Congratulations, what a cute story, wild is wild

  • Kayla Lindley12 months ago

    I loved this. They are not the cutest looking but I loved the story as a whole. Nice job.

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    This story was so heartwarming and hilarious, Cheryl! Thanks for the giggles! 💫

  • Brin J.12 months ago

    Fun fact: Opposums have high internal temperatures which makes them basically immune to rabies, and they eat ticks off other animals, keeping lime disease at bay. They're essentially like a natural pest control. They're also the only North American marsupials (not rodents as many think), making them unique, and are considered keystone animals in their ecosystems. It might not seem like it, but taking them out of the wild could be detrimental to the environment. I suggest next time your friend call a wildlife rehabilitation center so they can get them the care they need and be rereleased when they're older. Also, it's worth mentioning they're illegal to keep as pets, so if U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services ever hear of their possession of a wild animal, the penalty will be a fine of $1,000 along with a misdemeanor. I don't say this to be a party pooper, just that as a professional who works in the animal industry, I see this a lot because people aren't aware of the consequences. It's just not worth the risk to the animal or them.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I have my own funny story about possums! I was working in a new restaurant with my boyfriend at the time, who was a chef. We were closing up one night when I noticed the basement door was ajar and the light on. Curiosity overtook me. I opened the door and let out a scream! I ran to get my boyfriend. I told him I saw a rat the size of a cat! It was gone. Nobody believed me. They said it must’ve been a stray cat that got in a basement window. I said no, the tail! The dreadful tail. It took me years to realize it was a possum.

  • Wow, that was an awesome read 📖 ❤️😉Congratulations on your Top Story❗

  • Yeah, we once tried keeping a bat we found as a pet when we were kids. One week was more than enough of that, lol. Congrats on top story.

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Haha. Lesson learned the hard way. Congrats on the top story

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Congratulations!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.