Petlife logo

Peanut Butter Jelly Time the Tripod Pup

A Rescue Story

By LittleTree OppyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3
PBJelly Time the Tripod Pup

The first puppy came very quickly, a tiny black bundle with flecks of brown, a pink tongue, and the tiniest little feet. You can already tell he was going to look just like his daddy. Time seemed to pass slowly, the waiting game for his little brother to arrive.

FiFee the Big Bro

Waking from her brief nap, momma dog showed signs that the second and final birth was about to happen. To my shock, she reached down, pulled on the foot that was sticking out of her... the foot broke off in her mouth and she ate it! Horrified I called for my husband, an intervention must be done!

Fortunately, my husband had a little bit of experience from a time when he assisted a goat birth, he jumped right in to help. He rubbed some Vaseline on his hand, gently slipping his fingers around the puppy’s body to help slide him out. I held my breath, it did not happen immediately, he had to be gentle, as to not hurt the mother or the baby pup.

Later he said he was terrified that I would lose my dog during puppy birth and was more concerned for the mother, than puppy. He knew if she died I would be devastated. This was an accidental pregnancy, not planned. She was scheduled to be fixed the next day, nature had other plans.

Dad and Mom

When the light tan puppy was safely delivered, my husband had panic in his voice as he said, “It’s not breathing!” I flew into rescue mode. I had prepped myself for the various things that could happen during puppy birth. Thankfully I had asked questions at the vet visits and had saved a few online searches, I actually knew puppy CPR.

I gently cupped the small lifeless bundle in both my hands, tilting his head towards the ground, at an angle. I gently jiggled him, rubbed his belly and his chest, jiggling him upside down again. I repeated this method quite a few times. Very softly I breathed a couple of breaths into his snout, my mouth over his muzzle.

Low-key, I was a little disgusted by the fact that he still had some birth matter on his face where my mouth touched… But I was going to breathe life into this puppy. I glanced at my dog, imagining how confusing this must be for her. I was determined not to let her puppy die.

And then he gasped for air, he was alive!

PBJT

We quickly rushed him to Dr. Carson, our family vet, who was able to sew up his little nub where his back right foot should be. He gave all three a thorough exam, all-in-all everything else was just fine with mom and pups. We all returned home to introduce the little family to the rest of the household. What a hectic Labor Day! I will never forget their birthday because she literally went into labor, on Labor Day.

Mom and her baby pups

Our youngest son called the three-footed puppy Peanut Butter Jelly Time, the name matches his personality perfectly. He is the caregiver of all of the dogs in his little family and at least once a day he adamantly cleans their faces, ears, and paws.

His missing foot has never slowed him down. Ever since a puppy his mom has played with him rougher and longer then his older brother. It’s like she knew he had a slight disability, and wanted to make sure he was tough. I often wonder if she feels guilty because she is the one who ate his foot. She is not as close with the first puppy, even though they all three still live together. I wonder if it’s because she thinks all the pain came from the first puppy and does not associate it with the second puppy.

Peanut Butter Jelly Time is the fastest dog in the neighborhood, at least he thinks so. He keeps up with our friend's husky when she sprints across the yard. If he had all four feet, I am sure he could keep up with her at a full run. The fastest little dog I’ve ever seen. His next step in life is to get a foot attachment. I can't wait to see him run then!

Having this little tripod doggie in our life has been amazing. His energy and perseverance never ceases to amaze me. Every day we snuggle and talk about the day that I breathed life into him and how he brought joy into mine.

Woof

dog
3

About the Creator

LittleTree Oppy

Strong Educated Independent Woman. Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt, Neice, Tree Hugging Hippy, Animal Lover, Environmental Activist, Gardener, Artist, Writer, Spreader of Joy.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Amjad Ateih Dib9 months ago

    I love your story so much , keep going sister please don't stop , I will try to support you as much as I can

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.