Petlife logo

Merlin & Me

My faithful friend, perceptive protector and my sagacious teacher of life.

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - November 2021
28
Image - Me (Rebecca Ivey) & Merlin

For the past several years I have been entertained by a regular visitor. He arrives faithfully each morning and I find myself expecting and looking forward to his company increasingly. What is his name? I have not a clue but I call him Merlin, he seems to like that name. Sometimes he even brings along a friend or two to keep my company as I enjoy my morning coffee and come to life.

Merlin first began showing up a couple of years ago, I found him to be beautiful and majestic. I won his friendship by tossing him bread crumbs which led to fruits, seeds and sometimes meat. He even robs my garden in the Summer, but I really don’t mind. Truth being, I mostly plant it for him now anyway.

You might be wondering exactly who Merlin is. Well, he’s a Raven. In the beginning I considered him to be a giant crow, however he came to me injured one morning, and I took him to a local animal hospital for treatment (yes, I really did!). It was then that I learned that Merlin was in fact a Raven.

I kept him in a large cage, sitting on my deck while his injured wing healed. During that week, Merlin and I formed a friendship that has lasted for years. Sometimes, in the evenings he even sits on the windowsill and peeks in at me as I wash dishes. In the night I can hear him just outside of my window, and I know that he’ll be right there waiting in the morning. I smile because I know that this is a rare and special friendship that was built on complete trust.

Merlin rarely ventures far from home, he lets me know that he’s here with his deep, croaking call. A throaty and hoarse “kraa-kraa” that is deeper than that of a crow's.

The raven is often associated with loss and ill omen. As a talking bird, the raven also represents prophecy and insight. Ravens are also often associated with the dead and with lost souls. What I know for certain is that Merlin is the smartest and most faithful companion that I have ever had.

There is a grocery store close by, and each time that I go shopping I can almost always look up and find him sitting on a nearby limb or power line watching over me. In a way, Merlin brings me comfort because I feel as if he truly tries to protect me.

During our visits it does not matter if my hair is a mess, what I’m wearing or whether my makeup is on point, Merlin is just happy to see me. This big, black bird knows my deepest secrets and has listened to confessions that no other has ever heard. He never judges me, he accepts me for every beautiful flaw that I have. In his little, beady eyes I can do no wrong, I’m just perfect the way that I am.

When actual, human visitors come to my house Merlin watches them with a careful eye. Sometimes, he gets rude and makes people feel uncomfortable. Let’s just say that he is a territorial, protective friend. I often wonder if he is capable of deterring thieves and other unwanted guests; he certainly fills the role. One morning he even chased the mail carrier away, I didn’t really want those bills anyway.

Of course, having a Raven following me around and watching over me comes with its challenges. For one, I get some very strange looks and have even been called a witch. This does not bother me, in fact I find it rather fun and entertaining to say the very least. Most importantly though, in the United States, if you are not a wildlife facilitator, you cannot legally own a raven, they do not make a very good pet from a law enforcement standpoint. For this reason, I had to obtain a wildlife rehabilitation permit. This mainly became an issue after he threatened the mail man. (Insert laughter here) Another reason being that if he ever gets injured again it would otherwise be illegal for a veterinarian to care for him. It’s a small price to pay for a friendship that will undoubtedly last a lifetime.

Merlin has taught me a lot about life in general. True friendship knows no color, ethnicity, race or even species for that matter. You don’t even have to speak the same language to form an unbreakable friendship. A true friend does not care if you’re beautiful or ugly, rich or poor. They love you just exactly the way that you are. A true friend will always be there for you whether you can see them or not and they’ll always stand up for you when they feel as if something isn’t quite right.

I have often watched Merlin and felt disappointed in myself. He’s always moving forward, no matter what kind of day that he’s having. Even in the winter, with snow on his back he’s still out there, always showing up and never quitting.

That’s my Merlin, my faithful friend, perceptive protector and my sagacious teacher of life.

bird
28

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.