Petlife logo

Halloween Contest

Tess & Julianne

By Julianne Logefeil Published 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Santa Angel 😇

Hi,

Let me start out by introducing myself and my horse, my name is Julianne Logefeil and my horse is Tess, she is 23 and I’m 31.I have had her since was 3 or 4.I do have another horse Magnum, yes like the condom :) and he is 9 he is an Arab cross and 15.hh (hands height) his color is a black and white roan. But, for this costume I used Tess. She is 14.hh (hands high) and a plain sorrel. She was the first horse that I ever got, as I did have a couple ponies, o the memories but that’s for a different place and time.

We currently live in Crescent City, Ca were the Redwoods meet the ocean, a town or 6,000 people. It’s about 30 miles from the Oregon border.

I originally came from Salmon, Idaho, a small towns of 3,000 people, then I moved to Crescent, City, Ca because I moved here with my husband because he was able to find some work. I was blessed to be able to take my horse with me, as I didn’t want to leave her and it just worked out for me to be able to do that. As, if I didn’t I don’t know how sane I would have been, you know what they say a sane wife a happy home. Horses is my therapy and what makes me happy, they have always been and one day I hope that I can help others thought the gift of horses.

This costume is what I call a Santa Angel, I wanted to incorporate my horse into my costume so this is what I came up with. It took me weeks to think of what I want to do and about $300-$500 later, then I put everything together like lights, rhinestones ribbon ect. Then I have to do a dry run to make sure that nothing is spooking the horse, pinching or poking, as we don’t want an accident in any way shape or form as horses are flight animals but with trining we have to unteach them what their mothers taught them and that not everything is going to kill them. Yes, easier said then done right.

People ask me why I spend so much time and money doing this, but why not? For me it’s all about the smiles, if I can make people smile I know I’m doing good, and maybe I will help someone not be so afraid of horses as well, and it also helps desensitize my horse, and I love trying new things with my horse. This is my 3rd time doing this so people always ask me what are you going to be/do next year, but I never know as I start planning the moment summer ends and the first day of fall is here. One thing is most upsetting is that I can only enjoy it for one night, I wish I can do more. Everything is custom for my horse and I and it’s an original idea, nothing taken off the web.

I will continue to go big on my costumes just to see people smile, and sometimes when I can get away with it I will let a little kids get on my horse and ride around with me, they just love that. I wish I can do all the kids, but I can’t, but I definitely will let them pet and meet Tess, as she is the star.

With that being said, thank you for reading my story or a girl and her horse.

horse
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.