Petlife logo

Cray Cray

My Youngest Fur Baby

By Hannah DawsonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cray (the gray cat looking so cute) and his brother)

My youngest fur baby, Cray Cray, what can I say about him? How to pick just one memory? He's had so many funny moments. But first I'm sure your curious why my cat is named Cray Cray. Well, that wasn't originally his name, when his mother brought him and his siblings to us, my mom named him Dawn like Dawn before the dusk. Then he ran headfirst into the open French doors, and started licking walls. Cray is very different from his older brother Mo. He wasn't outside as long as Mo was. It was a dark cool night in October we had our French doors open because for once in Florida it actually felt cool. Anyway my brother, mom, Mo, and I were watching Halloween movies when Patience started bringing in kittens! We were too stunned too say or do anything as she plopped them by our feet. I quickly scooped up Mo and put him in my mom's room and closed the door. Meanwhile my mom had grabbed Mo's old cat bed and started putting the kittens on top of the fluffy pink bed. In total Patience brought us four kittens. Once they were old enough we put them outside to avoid Mo getting jealous. One day we got home from work and we couldn't find the kittens, then I heard a very scared, pitiful little meow from my neighbor's fence. I turned and saw Cray stuck on the fence too scared to jump down. My brother and I ran over (I had no shoes on but I didn't care) to my neighbor and frantically knocked on his door. He answered and I explained what happened, he let us into his backyard and I walked over to where Cray was. "Cray come on baby!" I called. Scared out of his little kitten mind Cray jumped into my arms. From then on he was an inside cat. So I brought Cray into my mom's room were Mo was and said: "Mo this is your little brother Cray Cray." I put the kitten towards his new big brother. Mo looked at him put his paw up, claws up and smacked Cray on the head. I scolded him and took Cray out of the room. But the next day the were best friends, and now the are both best friends and brothers. Cray unlike his big brother growing up wasn't a very loving cat, he only liked to be petted once and awhile. He hated to be picked up and cuddled. He really only liked to snuggle and cuddle with his brother. But one night that all changed, and my favorite memory with Cray happened. Suddenly over night Cray decided that we wanted love like his brother. He started to give what I call nudges (when a cat nudges their head against yours) he had never given me one before and he wanted to be held and loved. He would even rub up against my legs like his brother. One night after dinner my family and I were watching tv together, and Mo curled up in a chair by our fireplace and Cray was in the rocking chair next to him. I smiled and kept on watching tv. When it was bedtime I asked the boys if they were ready for bed. Mo looked up at me and wanted me to carry him to sleep. So I walked over and scooped him up, Mo snuggled into my arms and I walked over to my mom affectionately known to the boys as nana, and he gave her a nudgy and she kissed the top of his head and I set him on my bed. Walking back into the living room, I asked Cray if he was ready for bed. He meowed and I scooped him up he snuggled into my arms and tucked his head under my chin. I couldn't believe it. He was actually cuddling with me! I petted him and walked him over to nana to give her bedtime nudgy and kiss. Then carried him into bed. As I snuggled into bed, Mo laid by my right foot and Cray by my left foot. That memory tops all the memories that Cray's had in his two years in my life.

cat
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Dawson

I'm an aspiring writer. I work as a para professional with special needs kids. I love to read, cosplay, and hang out with my family and cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.