Petlife logo

Cock A Doodle Doo To You

There are reasons a rooster may be crowing all day long.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Cock A Doodle Doo is the term given to the sound a rooster makes. I grew up in the county and many of our neighbors had chickens which included roosters. I don’t particularly recall hearing them crow each morning at sunrise but I was given the impression that this is what they did. I recall the Kellogg’s Cornflake TV commercial where Cornelius Rooster could not get the proper sound out until he ate a bowl of cereal. He did his cock a doodle doo and the sun immediately popped up into the sky.

I have been living at my current residence for 3 years and a neighbor at the end of the street owns a few chickens and a rooster. My grandchildren and I were walking past this house one day and it was interesting to see a rooster in the city. I never imagined I would be writing about a fowl but you can thank Vocal for that. One of the things I enjoy about this platform is that there are so many different categories to choose from. I enjoy being a writer here because story ideas can be gleaned from just about any subject.

I think of Michael Jackson’s character in “The Jackson’s an American Dream” saying there were always so many songs in his head. I appreciate the fact that Vocal is so varied, and I can write an article from just about any situtation. This is why you will now be reading about my neighborhood rooster. He’s usually pretty quiet and he does not automatically crow at sunrise. For the past 3 days however he has been singing his song morning, noon, and night. This was unusual and I wondered if it were some type of sign? In the following video all of the roosters are crowing while it is light but there is no way to know if it’s just after dawn, before dusk or at noon.

I didn’t know about roosters but I know for a fact that dogs sometimes howl before people die because I’ve witnessed it myself. In 1981 a neighbors dogs howled for 3 days straight and my grandma said someone was going to die. On the third night their owner was shot and killed. My husband and I had a German shepherd who howled for 3 days and on the following morning the dog mysteriously died for no reason. One day I was walking through my neighborhood in 2010. Just as I passed one of the homes a black dog came near the fence, threw his head back and gave a blood curdling howl as if just for me.

When I returned home I told my husband that death was coming in spades. The next day my 91 year oldgrandma passed away. The day after that a good friend who was also her cousin died and a few months later a third older cousin in the same side of the family passed away. So now that this rooster keeps on doodling his do I decided to research the situation. I found out that it is quite common for roosters to crow all through the day because they can cackle whenever they desire. . Still I wondered why this was the first time I had heard one crooning for 3 days in a row?

Roosters have a built in clock that alerts them to sunrise and they sing in early morning from a high location like a fence to mark their territory. This is a signal to other fowl to back off. They also may crow when a hen lays an egg which are s a sign of being a proud daddy. It’s the equivalent of a man padding out cigars after his wife gives birth. I found this intriguing as not all eggs produce baby chicks. I do have more understanding now of people saying a man is strutting like a rooster.

The rooster in my neighborhood is simply walking through the yard belting out his tune without rhyme or reason. It’s not likely that in the city thetr are a number of hens dropping it like it’s hot and mass producing eggs. Its 10:05 AM at this point and Foghotn Leghorn has been making noise at target dim intervals since 6:45 AM. Perhaps he’s having a bad day or just wants to strut his stuff. Whatever the reason, I got a story out of it and I hope it entertained you for a few moments.

Tips are greatly appreciated and every dollar counts, Thnk you for taking the time to read.

bird
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.