Petlife logo

BunBun

"The love of a cotton tail."

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

I am undeniably one of the biggest animal lovers of all time. It doesn't matter if it's warm and fuzzy or cold and scaly, there is a place in my heart for everything. When I was growing up my father would call me Elly May Clampett. He said that there was no animal in the world that I wouldn't take in and love.

A few months ago I walked into a pet store and immediately noticed this tiny baby bunny. It was stuck in a fish tank with a sign that said "male rabbit 39.99". There was no hay or anything that a rabbit needs. The only thing that was in the tank with it was an old, stale carrot that had not even been nibbled on. It was sitting in the corner with its head hanging down. It looked like the saddest bunny in the world.

I knew good and well that a rabbit did not belong in a fish tank. What really caught my attention was how tiny this bunny was. This little baby wasn't old enough to be away from it's mother, I was certain of this. I asked the employee how old the little bunny was. She just shrugged and said that she didn't know anything about rabbits. I was not going to leave it there, I knew in my heart that if I didn't take it home with me, it would die.

I went straight to the veterinarian with my new bunny. I instantly discovered that it was only about 4 weeks old, much too young to be taken from it's mother. In fact it's illegal in the United States to sell a rabbit less than 8 weeks old. This bunny was still depending on mothers milk to survive. The veterinarian also discovered that it was a female. At least the employee at the pet store was honest when she said that she didn't know anything about rabbits. I was given formula and a dropper to feed it with. I was also told that she probably wouldn't live more than a couple of days.

My husband got busy building a rabbit hutch. This little girl was going to live indoors and be given the life that she deserved. I spent many sleepless nights, setting alarms to feed her. Slowly but surely she was growing. I was taking her to see the veterinarian once a week. Finally he gave her the thumbs up for being a healthy baby bunny that had a good chance at life.

My little BunBun is now an adored member of the family. I never knew how much love and affection that a bunny could have. She hops all around the house following us where ever we go. She also enjoys giving us kisses and gentle headbutts. She never fails to show us just how happy and grateful that she is. She snuggles on the sofa and watches television and even enjoys going for rides in the car. She is litter box trained and comes to us when we call her by name. She is truly the most loveable and amazing pet that I have ever had. She even has her very own Instagram page.

This adorable, precious bunny almost died due to the negligence of a local pet store. I am so glad that I stumbled into that store and found her. Not only did I save her but she has saved me. She shows me so much love and has opened my heart in so many different ways. We have developed a bond that some people just can't understand.

Before I found BunBun I thought that bunnies were just shy little animals that lived in the woods or in outdoor hutches. I never imagined just how much emotion that these little cotton tails have. I certainly never imagined having one as a pet living indoors with me. Now, I can't even picture my life without this little thumper being a part of it.

The best part of my entire day is when I come home and find my sweet BunBun waiting for me. She gets so excited and will run to the door to greet me. I pick her up and she snuggles just as close and tight as she possibly can. Bunny hugs are to absolute best things in the world. There is no love like the love of a cotton tail.

adoption
3

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.