Motivation logo

Your Thoughts Shape Your Reality

"Your worst enemy can't hurt you as much as your unattended thoughts." ~ Buddha

By Samyog kandelPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Your Thoughts Shape Your Reality
Photo by Fakurian Design on Unsplash

My bike ride in the morning did not open until I saw a small lump in the middle of the bike path. It wasn’t a branch, a dead mouse, or a smelly “gift” from a dog, which was one of the most common things seen during my travels.

It was a whole loaf of bread, incomplete.

In nanoseconds, my mind creates many forms of how this piece of bread ended up where it was.

I imagined a young mother pushing a handcart and her two-year-old son throwing bread on the sidewalk. But no one in his mind could give a piece of bread whole except butter or jam to the little baby of choice.

"Well," I thought, "maybe this was the woman's first child, and she had no idea how to feed the little ones." Now, the poor choice of this woman has led to the eating of a perfectly fine meal.

My mind then went to countries where a piece of bread (or any type of food) was very difficult to find, and I began to feel angry.

That's when a voice inside told me, "Here you go again, you're making news in your head." I laughed at my crazy thought. And that's where it struck me: We all create stories in our heads, and many of these stories make our lives miserable.

I used to be a master of bad thoughts.

I remember being so upset that a friend seemed to ignore me and did not return my emails, until I realized that I was texting him at his old (and inactive) address.

I remember the time I visited Wal-Mart in the evening, and when I saw a man running toward me in the parking lot, I thought I was going to be attacked. The man only wanted to ask for a few dollars because his motorcycle had run out of gas.

I remember a time in my life when all the pieces were completely falling into place, and instead of rejoicing at the moment, I wondered when the next catastrophe would happen because life could not be so good.

The stories in our head come from our unconscious mind, programmed from the time of our pregnancy. But apart from getting into the technology of how our conscious mind is organized, the important thing is that we do it for ourselves.

So how do we know when we are judging matters properly or when our mind is playing tricks on us? The answer is, we do not know.

But we can learn to reorganize our unconscious mind. We can nullify plans that lead to unhappiness instead of positive thoughts of love.

How do we reconstruct an unconscious mind? The following has worked well for me:

Know and ask.

Each time negative thoughts enter your mind, reflect on the root of the problem and ask whether it is worthwhile. Remember that superstitions are mere wishful thinking, and they may question your beliefs.

Nourish good plans in your mind.

Once you know a bad story in your head, replace it with a good partner.

Personally, I would rather think that my friend did not receive my emails, and then call her instead of insisting on sending more emails. I also thought that the man who asked for money had good intentions, and that my life could actually be better and happier.

Make your space more constructive.

Surround yourself with peaceful, upbuilding encouragement. Instead of going out to a bar to snort and get drunk, meet friends for dinner and make real connections. Instead of watching the disasters in the news, go for a walk with nature.

Associate with good people.

Think about your current relationship, and explain that some of those people are feeding bad habits in your unconscious mind. Send toxic people away from your life, and welcome those who share your values ​​and interests with what you really are.

Changing crazy thoughts in your head requires attention and practice, but once you have progressed, you will see how wonderful life can be. As Drs. Wayne Dyer said, "When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change."

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Samyog kandel

I am a passionate writer, trying to inspire other through my story..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.