Motivation logo

You are the Marketer of Your Life

It's time to look at your life and say "Yes. I want this."

By Andrea RichiePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Marketers are the hype men of the sales world. You need to be that for your life.

When you think about your life do you think, “I want that life!”?

You should.

Marketing is all about telling people where to focus & showing the value.

Do you do that when you talk about your life? Most people don’t. They focus on the crap.

The job they hate going to. Not having enough time for themselves. The laundry that never seems to be done. Having to take the car into be worked on.

Start by spinning your neutrals into positives. Then emphasizing the positives and making them the focus.

This weekend I had plans to go to a concert that had been rescheduled from April. I was so excited. Two days before I checked the venue site to see what rules they had and my heart sank when I saw that my rescheduled concert got cancelled. WTF COVID??

The day of the concert I spent the day at my friend's house having cocktails poolside.

Today I scheduled a me day. My plans were to have a day where I had nothing I had to do. My friend called me up, we went to lunch, got manis & pedis, then I came home and discovered my air conditioner stopped working (I just needed it to work for 1 more week then it would be cool enough to have the windows open).

There's 2 basic ways to spin the last couple days.

Nothing ever works out for me. 

I really wanted to go to this concert, so of course it was cancelled. All my concerts have been cancelled. 

It's supposed to be extremely hot this week, so of course my air conditioner breaks. My apartment didn't come with air conditioning, so I have to pay to have this fixed (Why did I want to live in an old house with "character"?).

I won't be able to get my tattoo now because I have to use the money to replace the A/C. Most tattoo places are booked out to the end of the year. Why can't I get anything when I want it?

See how it turns into this weird game of 6 degrees of crap (you do get extra points if you can somehow link it to Kevin Bacon).

Then there's the positive spin....

Things don't always work out as expected (but they work out to my benefit).

I got to spend a beautiful day at the pool (I have a friend with a pool!!).

I have the option to take days off just because I want to. I got to spend the day with my friend and she paid for lunch and nails. I can afford to take a me day and not have to do the math about what that will do to my bank account.

There's only 3 more really hot days before we hit fall weather. I won't have to store the A/C unit this winter. This A/C unit was gifted to me for free and I got 2 summers out of it. I have a lot of time to replace this unit (there will be a sale & I do love a sale).

It's all about how you direct your focus.

I don't support being delusional. If it's a dumpster fire call it a dumpster fire. If you want change (even changing good things) I help clients do it all the time. But your life will never be flawless. So focus on the good in it. Focus on the good in the people around you. As you do that you train your mind to see more of it. To be open to opportunities that offer more of what you want.

Next thing you know, you're living a life that makes you happy and fulfills your needs.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Andrea Richie

Creative. Foodie. Embracer of weirdness. Certified energy practitioner who takes the complicated out of healing. I untangle emotions and heal soul trauma, beliefs, & thoughts that were created to protect you, but now hold you back.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.