Motivation logo

You are Enough: A Tiny Manual for Being Your True Self

"Awakening to who you are requires letting go of who you think you are." ~ U-Alan Watts

By Samyog kandelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
You are Enough: A Tiny Manual for Being Your True Self
Photo by Danielle MacInnes on Unsplash

When I was in third grade, I used to hang upside down on the monkey lines in the playground of my girls' school in Philadelphia.

I would wrap my pale knees around the gray metal rods and let my hands carefully turn downwards, like a pendulum skirt.

This means that I had to be confident that my normal weakened strength would be enough to stop me.

It was always a feeling of victory when my knees started to burn. This means that it was time to carefully return to the world for myself.

Alix - 1, Gravity - 0!

One day, a dead stump of grass clung to the sole of my Stride Rite. As I examined the bars, it slipped into my mouth. I slammed my mouth shut and spat, and came out completely exhausted.

Double-clicking and mowing the lawn was no small noise. I made the scene; however, it failed to attract the attention of my teachers.

They did not rush to my side to see why I was coming in so often.

"Throwing up" was a gold ticket home from school and I wanted to make some money.

This is because I have spent the first third of my life believing that in order to be sure, something is wrong with me.

The only part I didn't enjoy was the weeding and cultivating. I thought that being sick made me attractive.

I was a kid looking for a pressed ankle to get sticks. Did you know that the value of getting street attention to crutches is in the children's world? It's like friggin 'crack!

And a broken leg? Think of signatures!

I wanted poison to get bandages, “so that I wouldn't get scratched.”

The questions involved were like gold: “Oh no! Are you okay? "

I wouldn’t let the fact that I don’t fight toxins stop me from getting into this potential cache of boo-boo love.

One summer night with the help of red and orange magical symbols, I pulled a funny rash out of my arm.

Then I tested it with my family, who never bought it. Thankfully, this ridiculous little thing has never come out of R&D.

To be clear, I have received a lot of reinforcement at home. I was supported from morning till night by my loving family, for which I am most grateful. But I have never felt that it really counts. In my child's mind, I thought they had signed a declaration that they would love me, and they were biased.

Also, I was one of those souls who needed reassurance in a foreign land.

I had a feeling that when I left the boundaries of my nest, that unless I was limping or repeating, I was invisible. I needed to be a victim of something in order to matter.

That day at the playground when my teachers ignored my clear - and official thing! - The dead grass was so angry, I felt so invisible I didn't think it was possible.

Shouldn’t these professional paid professionals acknowledge me when I’m in trouble?

Since I undoubtedly had a knack for Chicken Little-esque drama, they were probably safe from my antics at this time.

I can cling to any painful ideas to get the care I want.

Looking back at this time in my childhood I have to laugh at myself. Not only was I very theater, but my self-esteem was also depressing.

Obviously, I didn’t think I was good enough. In fact, it has taken me for the better part of thirty years to make peace with the idea that not only am I, but that I am what I am supposed to be.

Growing up in the seventies and eighties I had all these ideas, I was heavily fed by TV, pop culture, and my peers, about who I was supposed to be:

Breck Girl, Charlie's Angel, Wonder Woman (but I would love to be Lynda Carter), and Barbie imprisoned for work (not for staying at home).

As I was growing up into my youth, I began to dismiss the idea of ​​a bulletin board about life.

My head was turned slightly by action heroes with perfect hair and more, if I am completely honest, beautiful boys who listen to “proper” music and wear Polo Cologne.

Now longing for their acceptance, I shaped myself into what I thought they wanted me to be: The Girl in The Smiths' "How How Is Is Now?" video.

This has brought me to this point.

When I graduated from high school, I moved to New York to work for a large company. This was a dream come true.

Before long, I was trying to figure out who the model industry was: Edgy? Fun? Is it good? Commercial? Editing? There were too many options and they could never be a clear answer.

Watching my life outside for so many years was a difficult habit to break.

I was like a junkie for other people's approval, permission, information, and maps.

I thought that everyone except me was given a health book.

They seem to be "getting it" while I'm constantly searching to find my place in their world.

After all, I was working under the very impression that I was the only one who felt this way.

Again, I have to look back and laugh.

One day when I was in my twenties, the atmosphere allowed me to look under the hood and was allowed a secret of the universe: tons of other people felt like they were living without a manual. Most of us have a wing, and a slight loss is the way we find ourselves.

This epiphany was such a relief that I stopped trying to be what I thought others were looking for and began to look really good to me.

I would like to say that this radical change took place overnight, but no.

"Just being myself" remained a process of building self-confidence that was incompatible with the next few years (ten?) Until I was able to fully embrace what I am in the world today.

The wonder of it all - and another cosmic gut-buster - is that the closer I get to my personality, the more the world rushes to meet me where I am.

I'm trying to figure out if there is a handwritten note at birth, it might go like this:

happiness
1

About the Creator

Samyog kandel

I am a passionate writer, trying to inspire other through my story..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.