Motivation logo

Why Writing Became A Chore

How I'm Overcoming My Fear Of Being Perfect In My Writing Path

By Jade KellyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

People always tell you that the first step is always the hardest. I do believe that this is true. Telling stories, writing about life challenges and giving others inspiration by writing is my goal but I never believed I was a good writer. I've been riddled with self-doubt for a very long time and could not put my fingers on the keyboard and let those creative juices out. I had words trapped inside my mind, screaming at me "Let me out!". I didn't listen. I ignored my passion completely and didn't do anything to get better at it. I scrolled endlessly on social media, watched Netflix and YouTube for hours, or took a nap. All of these actions didn't contribute to my writing and held me hostage. I reached my breaking point. What was I going to do about this overwhelming fear of what I loved most in the world? I would write. "Write like you're running out of time"- Hamilton

People told me that first drafts are always the worst but if you push yourself it will always get better. You have to keep climbing the mountain, even though you're out of breath, slipping on the rocks, and losing focus. Any creative task you do requires a lot of focus and perseverance. Don't put pressure on yourself to make something perfect out of nothing. So it sucks today? It won't tomorrow and the next day.. if you just sit in your creative space and let all the words out. Is it disjointed? Does it even make sense? Relax, you've only just begun the process. You read it and you're thinking "No one is going to really care about this topic" right? If you write nothing no one will even know about it.

I have always written. Little stories here and there, poems, and lyrics. I always knew that it was something that I needed to do. Writing is like oxygen and I need it to live. When I would sit down at the computer to write I would open up a word document and stare at the screen for hours on end. Nothing would come out. I had ideas. I wanted to scream. I cried. Why wasn't anything happening for me? I knew the reason. Writing had simply become a chore. It wasn't fun anymore. I felt like I needed to prove how good I was to the people who told me I could write in the first place. That was the wall. I couldn't break it down so I didn't. It was too much pressure. I just had to create something absolutely perfect or I couldn't submit it for approval or let anyone read it. They would judge it harshly and I would go back into fear mode and lose my motivation. I would start to believe I would never be a writer.

After 6 months of forgetting who I was I finally opened up the computer and found my inspiration. I had to overcome this fear of perfection. I had to believe that even if someone didn't like what I wrote that my writing voice still mattered. I have stories inside of me yearning to get out into the world. I have experiences to share with people who have been through the same thing. Why would I forget those things? I want to write pieces that inspire, enrage, set souls on fire, push through barriers,

Are you a writer being flooded with self -doubt? Do you wake up in the morning and feel as if your stories need to be told? Then you need to WRITE. Write badly. Put yourself out there. It's risky business but it's worth fighting for. Don't get caught in this trap of getting it right the first time. You're going to get it so wrong. People are not going to love it. They'll even tell you you're NOT a writer. They're planting seeds in your mind. Don't let them bloom. Write on topics you're passionate about. When you're writing from your heart there is no way it can be a chore. Writing shouldn't be a chore. It should be a relaxing time to reflect on the things that matter most to you. Just put your fingers on the keyboard and do the thing.

If you're a serious writer you will fight for it. Trust yourself. The only way to keep at is just to do it. Make a goal sheet for your writing. How many words a day will you write? What is it that you want to write about? Does it require research? Where do you focus best? Don't let the little things get in the way of being the best writer you can be. When writing becomes a chore use brainstorming to come up with a topic or simply just put fingers to keyboard and go. Something will come out eventually. You'll find your voice again and all that magic you have inside of you will be unlocked. You're the key to writing. No one else. Don't let anyone else tell you that you're incapable. Let the flame burn brightly.

Today and every day I am Jade. A writer. A voice that needs to be heard. You're a writer, a musician, a creative, a someone with something to say. Break free of the doubt.

Until next time. Stay beautiful.

-Jade-

how to
Like

About the Creator

Jade Kelly

Writer, lover of all things creative- poetry, music, movies, dogs, friends, Netflix, books, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.