Motivation logo

Why Transforming Yourself Should Be Your Top Priority

If you want to change the world, first change yourself.

By Osana WasutPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

Throughout my journey, I have noticed a running theme amongst humanity, and that is, we all want to help... We all want to make a difference, to leave our mark on the world and create a lasting legacy for ourselves to be remembered for generations to come.

What it comes down to at the end of the day is we all want to help others, and this is all built intrinsically inside of us, and it's a beautiful characteristic that humanity holds.

However, something that I have learned along my journey is in order to go out and change the World and other peoples lives, we must first change ourselves, and this needs to take place first before you go out and leave your mark on the world.

"If you want to change the world, first change yourself, then tell other people how you did it. Never demand that people change. Inspire them to change using your own change as an example instead." —Dan Pearce

You know how in an airplane, they do the emergency procedures and they tell people traveling with children to put their own mask on first, and then help the child with theirs. This goes against our intuitive response which would be to, of course, help the child first, but if we do that, we might not make it. So we need to help ourselves before we help others.

So it's at this point in the journey that we decide yes, in order for me to eventually help humanity, first I must help myself, I must work on my own transformation. You make that life-defining decision that you will do whatever it takes to change, and you know it won't be easy, but it will be worth it.

I experienced this shift myself about five years ago when I understood that my divine purpose here involved coaching others, writing, and simply shining my light and love on humanity. But before I did any of that, I knew I needed to change. No one would want to hire a life coach that own life was a mess struggling to pay rent, and no one would want to read what I had to write when I was operating in fear and doubt about myself.

I spent the following years during my early twenties diving deep into myself, meditating, reading countless books on personal development, self-help, I attended seminars and workshops, and I absorbed as much as I possibly could in those years.

The result? I absolutely transformed, to the point where it actually shocked people to see the new and improved person I had become. It wasn't something I could even hide, it was so obvious the moment I walked in the room, people could tell something had changed.

I was no longer sad, miserable or living in fear. I was happy, I beamed with light, and I radiated love and compassion. I had become the person I had always wanted to be, but I knew that I was only getting started.

Now that I had filled up my own cup with love and compassion for my own self, I knew I was then capable to go and fill up others cups. I knew that life wasn't about me, but about the other lives that I was able to inspire and motivate during my time here. The transformation was a very important key for this radical shift because had I never spent those years working on myself, I certainly would not have been able to go out and help others.

I think we underestimate our potential quite significantly, and by doing so we limit the impact we can have, and how many lives we can change.

We also don't dream very big anymore at all, and since learning that we are the creators of our own reality, and anything we can see in our mind's eye, we can hold in the physical, I realized that our small-minded dreams are actually holding humanity back quite significantly in our evolution. We are being selfish by not dreaming big.

We need to break out of this limiting box that we are in and start dreaming big again, and your courage to do so will be a result from your own inner transformation.

I believe that when we take our own personal transformation seriously and make it a top priority in our daily lives, then this alone can change the world.

Even if you never go out or leave your house and you don't plan on helping anyone else, just you doing the work on yourself can ignite a spark of inspiration in others as they simply watch you, and then they go on and do the same thing.

Transforming yourself is a huge key to personal success, and we all have different definitions of what it means to be successful, but for me it means being happy, content and at peace in each moment, and always knowing that I have enough abundance to get me through the day, and so by that definition I have created, I already am highly successful, I always have enough, and I am happy and at peace in each moment of every day.

This wasn't always the way I lived, and at one point I was quite depressed and miserable, but it took me putting myself first for many years to work on myself. Some called me selfish for taking the time I needed to do "me" but looking back on the journey, it was the absolute best thing I could have ever done for myself, something that no amount of money could ever buy. I sacrificed my job, money, and friends for those years in order to improve and transform myself, and I don't regret it for a single moment.

That's the thing, we tend to put our jobs first, because it brings us that "money," and also gives us a sense of self-worth when we have a good job, but we never stop to think that maybe if you took a few months or even a year off, to grow and learn and discover who it is you really are, and what you are here to do besides working a soul-draining job, the benefits of this will be truly remarkable, and far greater than you could ever expect...

For myself, I quit my job for good back in August of 2018 deciding enough was enough!

I haven't looked back since, and although I don't have a steady income coming in, I always have enough, I am always taken care of, even on the days where I have two dollars in my bank account and I'm starting to get a little worried, I simply breathe, relax, and remember everything I learned during my years of transformation and how I am always okay.

I hope this helped you, and if you are interested, I offer personal coaching sessions on my website so feel free to check that out if it resonates with you and you are ready to get your own transformation going!

It's an incredible journey, plus I do recommend you find a coach or mentor to help you along the way, and it honestly pays for itself over and over for many years and decades to come!

I am now at a place in my own journey and transformation where I am ready to help others, and I always knew it would be my purpose here on Earth to help humanity dream big again and break free from all the things that hold you back from living a life beyond your wildest dreams!

Namaste,

With love and light,

—Osana

self help
Like

About the Creator

Osana Wasut

Sharing my stories with the world. Writing has been a great tool for transformation, and I feel like I am only starting to dive deep into the self. Life is a wonderful gift, live to the fullest!

Find me at www.osanawasut.ca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.