Motivation logo

Why do we compare ourselves to others?

Feel jealous or lost of other people? Know that you are in your own journey.

By Talara NolanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why do we compare ourselves to others?
Photo by Jordan Seott on Unsplash

Have you ever heard of a person's success and felt jealously? Heard of someone doing a great thing, and thought why them, instead of happiness? Why is that? Why is it that people think that, and think it so quickly?

There was a period of time that I thought that. I was surrounded with people that I thought were doing some great things. People who were farther ahead than me. People who were getting married, or had successful career's. While I knew that I should be happy for them, and I was on some level, I also was jealous of them. I couldn't help but to see people and wonder why them and why not me. Why couldn't I find happiness and success like they did?

It's hard to see someone else and not compare yourself to them. To think that you should be close to where they are, that you should be on the similar path as them. However, the thing that we so easily forget in this world is that we all on different paths. The beauty of this world is that we are all different, on different paths, and that not one story is like another. It might be close, but it's never the exact same. You might not be as far ahead as you want to be, but you also don't know what the future is going to bring you.

Stan Lee, for example, created his first hit comic, 'The Fantastic Four, just before his 39th birthday. He went on to create the legendary Marvel universe, which includes Spider-Man.

The famous actor, Samuel L. Jackson, didn't land an award-winning role until age 43, in the film 'Jungle Fever'.

Julia Child didn't eat her first cookbook until she was 50. Which then launched her career as a celebrity chef.

The problem is that we all think that we should be further ahead in life so early. Yes, there are a lot of people that have success very young. Which is great for them. However, it has become the standard, the standard that we should aim for. Instead of the reality that it is, which is amazing but rare. When I was young, I thought I should have life figured out. When in reality I had nothing figured out. I was lost and aimless in life. Which only made me more frustrated with myself. I so badly wanted to have things figured out. To have a family, to have a successful career.

If I could go back in time, and talk to my younger self, I would say that it all works out. Everything really does happen for a reason. No matter the struggles that I went through, I won't change a single thing. Why? Because I know that everything I went through, was to lead me to have my daughter. And no life without her in it makes sense to me anymore. If you learn nothing from this story, it should be that you really don't know the path that you are on. You don't know where it leads, or what is meant to happen to you. Don't compare your journey to anyone else's because what is in the end of your journey might be bigger or better than you can imagine.

I am grateful for my journey, and things that I went through. No matter how lost that I felt for so long. If you keep going, you will find yourself where you are meant to be.

I used to struggle to make decisions at times. Especially big decisions, like with relationships. But the truth is that, if you are meant to be with that person you will be. I know it might be hard to go through. But when the right person comes along you will find a way to work it out. Don't stress that you might be making the wrong decisions, no decision is the wrong one.

The best feeling is being in the right place at the right time. It's knowing that you are where you are meant to be, there really is a peace to that. A peace that I hope that you find if you haven't already. If you are feeling lost, meditation and prayer really helped me. There is something about being in the silence of just your thoughts that brings clarity and answers. It's a great way to be able to hear what you really should do with your life if you need some direction. So try to just be still, be in the moment. And who will be surprised at the answers you will find within yourself.

No matter where you are in life, know that you are meant to be there for a reason. Know that it will all work out. Don't compare yourself to anyone else, as you are on your own journey.

-T

self help
Like

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.