Motivation logo

Where to Begin

How I got here

By Clare HeleyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey everyone. The hardest thing when starting something new is where on earth to begin? My new aim in life is to help others to deal with tough times in their lives and uplift them in any way I can. So the best place to begin is to explain how I came to this idea.

My name is Clare, I'm 35 years old and I live alone with my two cats, near Leeds, Yorkshire. I've always struggled with self confidence and suffered with depression at least three times in my life. The last few weeks and months have been really tough at times. My Dad has been seriously ill and my job (in a large chain Opticians) was getting me down but I couldn't find time to properly look for a job elsewhere. I was just getting on with things as best as I could, people said I was doing great considering. But deep down I was just coping.

It all came to a head after being in my job around seven months. My six month probation period was extended for another month, mainly due to my confidence and inability to meet targets. It was a little unfair really, as two out of the four weeks I was off work for planned holidays, but anyway. To cut a long story short, I ended up being laid off, just like that, had a meeting with the boss and then no job. :(

I was upset at the time, only because I didn't really get to say goodbye to anyone and wouldn't be working with some of the lovely friends I'd made. Deep down I knew the job wasn't right for me. I also knew I had two choices. I could fall apart and worry about where my next rent money was coming from. Or I could use the situation to make the necessary changes I'd been longing to make for the past few months.

So I've chosen the second road. I've been applying for jobs and signed up to the Job Centre, so at least I'll have some money coming in. But I've also been using the time wisely to work on myself—Positive Thinking and Self Improvement. So things have not been easy the last five weeks, by any means. I've felt totally lost at times and had a couple of meltdowns where I thought the tears might never stop.

But I am determined to keep going and harness the incredible power of positive thinking. I believe things happen for a reason and the big one I see now is that I have the opportunity to focus on my Dad, whatever the future may bring for him. I feel so much more open to possibilities and things have been popping up at just the right time for me.

So the road ahead may been unknown, as I suppose it is for many of us. But I am building the foundations for a better future for myself and my Dad. So although it won't always be easy, I know that it will be totally worth it. :)

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.