Motivation logo

When She Realized Leadership & Entrepreneurship were her Passions.

Entrepreneurship can start at a young age. Zechariah 4:10 ► (NLT) “Do not despise these small beginnings, for the LORD rejoices to see the work begin, to see the plumb line in Zerubbabel's hand.”

By Jordan TaylorPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3

“Dear optimist, pessimist, and realist – while you guys were busy arguing about the glass of wine, I drank it! Sincerely, the opportunist!” -Lori Greiner, Inventor, Entrepreneur & Television Personality

I am excited to start “Free Your Story” Writer’s Workshop with Stories Are Power. For more artwork please follow my Instagram: @ Ivysouthernbelle89

The 1st time I realized I was leader, with something special and unique to change the world, was one summer during middle school.

I was thrilled to attend SC Business Week camp, sponsored by the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce. There we sat, in a cool, air-conditioned dimly lit auditorium, with over 200 other students. I could feel the electricity with excitement in the air. We came to gain exposure to the world of business, commerce, and entrepreneurship. The 1st speaker came on stage. What he asked next, would change my life forever.

He held up a $50 bill—Now I don’t know about you, but back in the 90’s $50 was a lot of money, and quite frankly it still is. He asked us, “Who wants this $50?” Some people in the crowds raised their hands—Mine shot up like a rocket 🚀 I was included in that number.

He paused and then asked again, “Who wants this $50 bill?” and some people called out, “Me, I want it.”

The speaker didn’t move or change his stance. He repeated the question just as before, “Who wants the $50 bill?”

Next, the atmosphere noticeably shifted. I stood up. Immediately others noticed and they stood up. And then things escalated quickly. Some people started shouting raising their hands, scrambling to be noticed in the crowd. Still some others sat watching in their seats at the unfolding spectacle.

But I got out of my seat. I walked down the aisle with haste. My name then was Jordan Hasty, actually. Others tried to get up from their seats but they didn’t have enough time. I was already down the aisle next to the stage—in position before others could make it out of the aisle. And then I walked up to the speaker and snatched the money out of his hand! I had never met this man before. I had no idea whether he would’ve been offended, but I couldn’t place limits on my ambition.

And that’s where I think we get caught up in the conversations about Women in Leadership. Too many confuse a woman’s ambition as an act of aggression, when in fact it’s simply a call a change, an invitation for everyone to reflect and take (new) action.

The crowd cheered. I felt an adrenaline rush, and proud of myself for going after something I wanted, even when it felt awkward and others were watching under pressure. The speaker smiled and congratulated me. He spoke into the mic 🎤 and said, “That is Entrepreneurship in action! Wow! She didn’t wait for anyone to validate her coming to the stage. Great example.”

He was right— here are the lessons.

1. Entrepreneurs have to take a stand and make essential decisions before they can pursue their business ideas. You have to stand up for something in order to stand out.

2. When we doubt ourselves and our abilities, we waste precious time that would be best invested towards achieving our goals. Everyone in the room had the same opportunity as me to get that $50 bill, and I’m sure others doubted whether this guy on stage was serious, but I didn’t let doubt or fear of appearing silly stop me from getting to the goal. Period. Entrepreneurs have to be willing to take (calculated) risks and act quickly on ideas, even if it is only small steps towards validating the idea.

3. Don’t lose sight of your goal once others see you getting closer to success. You have to be ready and in position. Before others realized what was happening, I was already positioned by the speaker next the stage. Don’t stop until you see progress from your goal and be ready to accelerate when competition catches on.

That was a good day, and the beginning of realizing that Entrepreneurship was my calling. The path of the most successful Entrepreneurs is through leadership.

*Excerpt from the “Free Your Story” Program

  1. Editor’s Note: Yes, I ran for U.S. Congress in 2016. You can view my feature with Elite Daily here. Yes, I am answering ALL the questions about wholesome sexuality, money, and power. Thank you for reading and supporting.

goals
3

About the Creator

Jordan Taylor

Jordan Taylor (formerly Jordan Hasty) is an aspiring Business PhD and is 30 years young.

2011 AB Dartmouth College

Yale Divinity Alumna 2014-2016 (NDH)

Harvard Business School Online

2019 CORE Certificate

2020 Disruptive Strategy Certificate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.