Motivation logo

When Everything in Life is Upside Down!

Here are some tips to get you through any challenging time you might face.

By Ankur_SaloniPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
https://unsplash.com/@rishikeshyogpeeth?utm_source=medium&utm_medium=referral

Have you ever felt like screaming in your car or wondering what you did to deserve this? Or have a sinking feeling that you are falling into a deep ditch where everything seems bizarre, unpleasant, and uncertain!

Does this sound familiar to you? Well, that is something which is happening to me currently!

I have no job (thanks to corona pandemic), struggling with postpartum blues and weight gain, taking care of kids without house help, and trying adjusting with some of my important broken relations. All these things around me make me feel doomed and much negative.

We all fall prey to these emotional downfalls. Sometimes unwanted and unfortunate things pile up and make us feel there is nothing more to look forward to. Our mind tends to draw conclusions and play some serious mind games with us.

Well, this feeling is normal and there are testing times when we all face rough patches in our lives. Through all the odds what keeps me going are the people whom I look upon as my inspiration, especially my mom. If they can deal with it, I can too!

When life turns you upside down, simply adjust your view. This is what smart people do! -Doug Firebaugh

. . . .

Life may be unfair and unkind to you at the moment, but it won’t always be that way. Focus on these eight things, and you’ll get through whatever you’re going through in much better shape.

1. Keep moving forward.

You can choose to worry or curse your destiny for your problems, or you can choose to continue stepping forward even if it feels like wading through a pool of molasses. This is the only practical way if you think carefully.

2. Keep saying positive words to yourself.

I believe in the power of words. They have the ability to change your thoughts and your life too. Just remind yourself that “This bad phase of your life is transient and will be over soon”.Try to look on the brighter side of life.

“On my darkest days when I am feeling broken, inadequate, and unloved I remember whose daughter I am and straighten my crown.”

3. Focus on things you have control over.

You have to remember that you are the master of your destiny. You do not have any control over the things happening around you, but you do have the power to decide how to deal with it.

Why worry about things you can’t control when you can keep yourself busy controlling the things that depend on you?” ~Unknown

4. Decide priorities

Focus on what is important. What do we need? What are the things in our lives that are the most essential to our happiness? For me, it is spending time at home with my children. Yes, during pandemic my finances have gone bad, but this challenge will make me to perform better when I will be back in my field of work again.

5. Accept the change

When everything seems to be going wrong in your life, just think of it as change, which always comes at some point. Furthermore, perceive that change as something that can lead to your own growth.

You have to allow yourself to open the door to something new. You are being cleared out for something incredible to come in.

Try not to resist the changes that come your way. Instead, let life live through you. And do not worry that your life is turning upside down. How do you know that the side you are used to is better than the one to come

Rumi

Well wishing desperately for a pre-baby body is not a solution. I have learned to be patient as it takes time to shed the baby weight. I am liking my new avatar of me who is a dedicated mom with some extra pounds.

6. Do not let other’s negativity affects you.

Stop caring about other’s opinions. I am the type of person who cares very much about other people, but I care very little about what other people think of me.

I have learned that leaving behind the baggage of distress relations or persons is not at all an evil thing. The relations that suck positivity from your precious life are not worth it.

7. Do the things that make you feel happy and confident.

This might be wearing nice clothes, visiting friends, spending time doing a hobby, etc.

8. Get closer to your family.

Utilize your support systems. Share your feelings, worries, and hopes with your family. The people who love us want to help and support us when we struggle, so let them.

When I began reaching out, I found more support than my judgment. Opening my heart in front of them was so soothing and easy.

. . . .

To tell you the truth I still do not know when will I have my job back or the other things that went wrong or did not go the way as expected.

For me, the way to bring myself out of my darker moments is to focus on all the things I’m grateful for.

Spending time with my kids and watching them play restores my faith that right now, life is good. And that gives me hope that if things can be good in this present moment, they will get better, someday.

The world keeps turning whether you choose to moan or get back up again, so choose the latter and begin the journey of restoring your confidence.

Realize it’s your journey and the sooner you begin on it again, the more likely it is that you’ll rediscover happiness along the way.

Everything you love could be taken away at any second, and that’s one more reason to celebrate and enjoy life in the moment, not bemoan it for being less than perfect.

Remember, you are not dead and you can still work out on it to have a remarkable life.

The truth is everything you want is possible and you just have to choose to make it possible. You have to allow yourself to open the door to something new.

............................

how to
2

About the Creator

Ankur_Saloni

Doctor couple. Love to travel. Bookworm by birth. Keen interest in financial blogging, family and womanhood related articles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.