Motivation logo

When Being A Creative Writer

Am I Good Enough

By Justin HigginsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
When Being A Creative Writer
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

When in the process of writing I always ask myself two questions. One, will anyone want to hear what I have to say? Two, am I even talented enough to share my work? These are valid questions to ask. There are so many talented writers and there is not a topic that has not already seemed to be covered in the world of writing.

However, this is exactly where you are wrong. Everyone is unique and brings a different perspective to an idea. Whether it is poetry, romance, drama, historical fiction, or something else altogether, your personal outlook automatically brings a dimension that has yet to be discovered because it comes from you.

The goal is to help everyone be more confident in using their voice to produce better and more engaging writing. Therefore, strategies will be highlighted that can make your writing not only more accomplished, but more personal and meaningful.

1. Write What You Enjoy and have Knowledge about

Sometimes when thinking about a topic to write about we can sometimes think we need stray away from what we know because people will tire of it. This could not be further from the truth. Writing about what we are knowledgable in will shine through as confidence. Especially, with the unique ways our words are used in our writing to paint a picture. Additionally, if we are confident then people will gravitate to it.

2. Mistakes are Okay. Be Kind to Yourself

Say you are with your best friend and you ask them, "What do you like about me?" They think about it really wanting to give you an honest answer. They eventually reply with, "You're smart, persistent, loyal, and a good influence." That would make you feel really good about yourself, right? You would feel more confident because someone that cares about you really saw you for who you really are. Unfortunately, we are usually not that kind to ourselves and we say all kinds of hurtful things to ourselves. Like, "How could you be so stupid?" It's okay because I am guilty of this too. Be kind and gracious to yourself, and know that sometimes you will make mistakes. It is okay, and ultimately, that will make you a better more relatable writer.

3. Be Yourself

How many times do we look at other people and wish we had what they had? I do not know about you, but I do it a lot. However, as I learn more about myself I am slowly beginning to love myself and all of my flaws. I love to write about romance and poetry. Furthermore, I am in touch with my emotions as I can sometimes feel deeply about what others feel because of my empathy. I used to hate these things about myself, but now that I have found a way to make it work, so I am finally coming around to accept these quirks. And it's made my writing more me.

4. Life Experience and Research

People love to read because of the ability to imagine a scene in full detail. If an author decides to write about the beach, you should be able to hear the waves, taste the salt, and hear the laughter of a couple frolicking through the water enjoying each others company. Also, you should be able to feel that couples connection when they are on the boardwalk handing hands walking together. This scene cannot be accurately portrayed unless you have experienced the beach and have done research on, let's say, how a "teenager would spend their summer at the beach." Think about what you want to write about and that will lead into how you want to do your google search. It will help too as the reader will appreciate your effort, especially when it feels real, and they can connect to you.

goals
2

About the Creator

Justin Higgins

Hey everyone!!! I’m looking forward to being inspired. I have always enjoyed the creative aspect of writing but only recently over the past two years have a seriously started engaging in it. I write short stories & poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.