Motivation logo

What to Write First?

Tips for the new writer

By Kayla BloomPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This may sound counterintuitive, but I actually started the idea of tips for writers on my very first visit to the Vocal website. I had little idea where to start, what people would find interesting, and if I was even any good at this whole writing thing. And then it hit me. Someday when my fingers ache from typing, eyes burn from the bright glare of the screen, and stomach growls from the neglect of writing excitement, I will look back to this moment. The beginning. Not really the beginning of all of my writing, but just maybe the most important. What is it I would tell that girl eagerly wanting to begin?

Take Your Time

Figure out what it is you care for, and don't mind writing about, researching, doing, or watching. Sometimes the best articles I've written have been reviews about movies I'm very excited about. It comes across in your work, trust me. It takes time to build a business, and possibly more time to figure out our focus and direction we want to take.

Save Your Ideas

In the beginning, I found myself writing one article at a time. It was slow, and if I started to get bored, I would just save and leave it for awhile. However, I soon discovered that instead of that, I could start other articles I had an idea for, save them, and then come back to whichever article I was interested in at the moment. You might forget to write a review for that amazing movie you just saw, or a product you use ALL of the time. You can flesh out ideas and topics.

Focus on your goals

It's easy to get overwhelmed and discouraged in freelance work, but KEEP IT UP! Focus on your passion, your goals for the future. What is you want to be able to do? Live anywhere and work from home? Land a dream job at a reputable company? or just write? Whatever it is, keep it in mind and the failures will reveal themselves for what they are...merely roadblocks on the way to happiness.

Just Do It

Seriously... no matter what anyone else has said, if this is your dream, JUST DO IT! Write where ever and whenever you can. Write down everything. Every last important thought. You never know when that one idea you had on the bus sparks a flame and materializes into greatness. Keep a dream journal and attempt to record the dreams you remember. We all know that won’t always happen, but some pretty spectacular things have come from dreams in the past. One of my most precious novels-in-waiting came to me this way.

Make a Space

For anyone working from home, and let's be honest that's a lot of us these days, they can tell you how important it is to find a comfortable work space in the chaos of the home. No one understands this more than those with children, in particular. Have a set morning routine (actually wearing real adult clothes), brew some tea, and clean off a corner of the breakfast table lovingly decorated with flowers. You will find work much more productive if you take the time to get into the head space, which unfortunately for some does not include your baggiest sweats. This is not easy to accomplish, but well worth the effort. In trying to home school my niece whom I live with the past few weeks, we've had to adjust our routine extensively. Give yourself some room to grow, adjust, and settle. It may not happen overnight, but keep at it! Finding a space in your home that is free of clutter will help keep your sanity as well.

If you enjoyed this article, please feel free to leave a tip. Anything can help as I try to deliver all kinds of interesting content to readers. Please consider reading some of my other works, and I thank you so much for the support!

goals
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Bloom

Just a writer, teacher, sister, and woman taking things one day at a time in a fast-paced world. Don’t forget to live your dreams.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.