Motivation logo

What's Up?

Do you want to tell a story?

By #notashamed;Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve had this idea rolling around my head for quite some time; I just never took the time to put it together. There’s no decent reason as to why really; I just didn’t! However, I think we can all agree the past year especially has been a little wild for everyone in more ways than one. We’ve all experienced insane shifts in our lives and everyone is incredibly open to talking about it, but what about what we don’t seem to want to talk about? And why is it we don’t want to talk about it.

We’re ashamed.

Every one has a story worth telling, some more dark than others, some more triumphant, but it’s a story nonetheless.

I’ll introduce myself later, but although I love talking, typing, writing etc. I’m not the only one who has something to say, and I feel like too many people are told to “hush” in more ways than one. A long time ago, I wanted to do a traveling Moleskine with friends and family to write thoughts and stories in to eventually publish. Unfortunately, I never let that come to fruition, which is my fault. I had a wonderful idea and decided not to do it later. Not to mention now I’m becoming increasingly aware I’m one of the only people who is still a fan of sending snail mail.

Years later, I’ve decided to update and upgrade the idea in the form of a blog. Ideally, every day you could read words of someone other than me. You tell your story and/or read other’s stories. You would be your own chapter in a digital publication. If you dreamed of being published somewhere, congratulations, you’d be published right here on #notashamed.

After a one year of digital stories exploding the internet I would assist in the next piece of my dream and your own – the printed publication. I’ll take every story from the year, compile #notashamed into a beautiful anthology of varying stories and self-publish, making it available on Amazon and other platforms for anyone to purchase and hold their own tangible copy. Even better, congratulations, you could add “published writer” to your resume.

So how does it work? It’s easy.

Write down or copy and paste this e-mail: [email protected]

Send your story in the body of the email, as an attachment or whatever way works for you.

Let me know if you want to remain anonymous or have your first name listed.

Attach a photo of yourself, your family, whatever fits your story; just make sure it makes sense to you.

Word limit? None: I can’t put a whole novel on a blog, but if I think it’ll be a two-part entry I’ll let you know.

I’ll read through it, check for typos etc, and let you know what day your story will post. Share your story and published entry on social media, show it off to your friends in person, or any way you want to share it.

I won’t accept people being blatantly negative to others just for the sake of being negative; if I see a story looks to be clear solicitation for monetary purposes, I won’t add it. You’re telling this story at your discretion, and if someone comments to be hateful on anything, they will be banned from the page. If I find out you’ve plagiarized any truths, the story will be removed and the person submitting will be banned as well. Prior to publishing, I will request your acknowledgment that you gave me permission to post on the blog and attesting to your truth. I will not claim any of your words as my own. I know how hard it is to write them.

Do you have a story to tell? Would you like others to hear and inspire from your story? I want to hear it; and so does everyone else.

goals
Like

About the Creator

#notashamed;

There is too much stigma and prejudgment. These behaviors should be and should have always been antiquated. This is where we're welcome to come together and be proud of ourselves, every piece of ourselves.

Be proud of you, all of you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.