Motivation logo

What's Holding You Back From Your Goals?

Feel The Fear And Do It Anyway

By Erin MoodyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
What's Holding You Back From Your Goals?
Photo by Kuma Kum on Unsplash

Do you have a big dream that you can't stop thinking about? Are you actively working towards making it happen? If you aren't, you aren't alone.

So many people go through life with gifts to give the world, but fail to take any real action on making them happen.

Why We Procrastinate On Our Dreams

Dreaming is fun right? There's no one to judge us if we mis-step. No risks if we fail. It's a safe space to pretend like we have it all figured out.

The problem with that is, you will get to a point where you become frustrated with your life. You start to realize the dreams you've been dreaming for years haven't magically appeared.

I think that's why so many people have quarter life and mid life crises. It's like you wake up and say I'm not happy but have no idea what to do to fix it.

The only way to fix it is through action. But people don't want to do that because its' risky. We think sure, this life is lame but I am familiar with it. If I say to the world I am going after my dreams, what we people say if I don't make it? What if I don't make the same amount of money?

The Freedom Of Experience

The more action you take towards what you want to do with your life, the more confident you will feel. You will be able to experiment with what you think you want and decide for yourself if you want to keep doing it.

Who knows, you may actually hate what you think is your dream. A few years back I quit my job to focus on a career coaching business full time. Turns out, I wasn't a fan of being a Career Coach exclusively. While I liked helping people and talking about their career questions, I was easily drained by it.

If I hadn't taken the leap and left corporate to give it a try though, I wouldn't have known. I would still be wishing my days away for something it turned out I ultimately didn't want.

I went back to Corporate America for a bit and discovered my next passion over the next two years. Because of my continued experiences with what I think I want to do, I am gaining insight into what I actually like to do.

Overcoming The Fear Factor

It's scary to go into new things because you have no idea how they will turn out. It can feel easier to stay in your comfort zone, regardless of how unfulfilled you are.

Understanding that it is OK to feel scared is the first step. They key is to keep going.

The more action you take, the more new things you try the better you will feel. Your confidence will improve and you will start believing in your ability to succeed.

Fear of the unknown is a huge drawback for a lot of people. The problem with living that way is that this is no KNOWN. You can't predict what will happen in the future. You have a false sense of security in your current reality.

What can you do today to take action on your dreams? I'd love to hear what you are working on!

Feel free to connect and message me.

Website: www.erinmoodyagency.com or www.styleyourlifepodcast.com

LinkedIn

Instagram

Pinterest

goals
1

About the Creator

Erin Moody

Co-host of the Style Your Life podcast - https://www.styleyourlifepodcast.com

We help people discover the power of positive change in their lives!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.