Motivation logo

what keeps me going

Little Story About Me

By Mawazo NiyoPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
what keeps me going
Photo by Jude Beck on Unsplash

Every day I wake up and thank GOD that I made it through another night, and like most people, I get to the point where I feel like giving up. Life gets rough for everyone, and sometimes it is difficult when you have no motivation or someone to come home to that can help you relieve that stress it's hard to find motivation. When I am having a rough time, and I am at the point where I feel like I can't go on anymore, I read a book sometimes we overuse our mind, and we forget how important our intention is to us. Whenever I have too much on my mind and feel exhausted and cannot continue, I like reading children's books. I live alone, and I work in the healthcare industry, and stress and mental health are at its peak with all of us putting in overtime and working with positive Covid-19 patients; its little had not to get stress out. I love reading children's books because they take me back to when I was young and carefree. They calm me down and put my mind at ease. I love picturing myself at the moment in the book section and most of the time when I finish reading the book. I am all calmed down and ready to get back into work. While I am reading the book, and I take time to reflect on what is going on and how me doing what I am doing brings joy into someone else life. The joy I see on family welcoming their family member back walks out after beating COVID makes all of my stress go away. It gives me a sense of comfort, and I thank God every day that he chose me for this role, and I wouldn't want it any other way. The reason I wish to read children is book it's because I am visual learner, I understand better when I can see what I am reading. When I read children are books whenever I flip a book, I get more and more excited, and the more excited I get, the more relaxed I forget how stressed I am.

Another thing that keeps going is my family. My brother and sister, to be specific, my brother was the first to graduate high school, college, and university in our family, and the reason he was committed even though he had no one in our family to help him makes me want to work twice as he does. When he first got his diploma, everyone saw so excited, and my uncle, who is a second language learner, was so excited for him, and the smile he had on the day motived my brother and me to do more. My brother then went to college to study social work, graduated with his associate, and continued to struggle a little. Still, he was very determined and graduated with his bachelor's, and then he went on to study for the state exam, and he failed twice, but he never lost his courage; he knew what he wanted, and that's what keeps me going every day. Seeing my uncle laugh so hard that he tears up and seeing how hard my brother worked and the huddle he went through and never have up makes me get up every day and thank God to protect the people I love. Seeing my family happy is what keep me going every day most people have money as their motivation, I have my family for that. We are not well off sometimes we get into it, and most of the time, we cry and laugh together, but that's what family is for. A family should be there for the good, bad, and ugly, and my family is there from the beginning until now, and I am thankful every day that I make it out of bed for them.

self help
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.