Motivation logo

What is Your 2021 Power Word?

Stay Motivated!

By Steven RicePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
What is Your 2021 Power Word?
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

2020 has been a beast! Full of disease, death, isolation, stress, and many more events that made us all want to hide under the covers for days. So do we hide, or do we stand up strong to finish out the rest of the year? I personally want to put 2020 behind me and push on to 2021. While looking back on the unfortunate events sprinkled throughout 2020, I felt as if I wanted to carry a word with power into the new year to motivate myself to stay strong.

Yes, this might sound like a silly thing to do, but it is also motivational. Does a word really have the power to bring me some hope into 2021? Yes and no, the word itself does not hold much physical power. You are not going to fight off a pack of wolves with a word. However, if you look into it, power will be revealed. Just imagine, starting 2021 off with your power word and reminding yourself why you chose the word. You can take on the world!

The word I feel most connected with after all that has taken place in 2020 is resilient. Resilient gives me the power to recover from a hard situation and believe me I have had my fair share of hard times in 2020. Nevertheless, I have to stand tall and continue to shine my light. So, I shall take the power word and whenever the road starts to get rough next year, I will remind myself that I am resilient.

Now, I have to admit that I did get some inspiration from a song for my word. Resilient by Katy Perry provide me with not only a power anthem but my power word. I love the motivating lyrics such as, “They tried to poison the water. But I was a little stronger. Look at me now, look at me now. I light up the room.” The song and word started to strike a feeling within me.

I have taken on a lot of water this year. There were times that I felt my boat was bound to sink, deep. I had to search within myself and prove to everyone and myself that I am truly resilient. We all have that fight in us and 2020 has tested us several times. Work through the struggles and use your power word to continue to fight.

With a new year, most of us strive to make the year better than the last. We set goals and expectations that we will shine brighter than ever. No one wants a lackluster year, so we must try to motivate ourselves to keep going. So, let us not lollygag and work at it. With our power word, we can be better equipped to take on the hardships. We can do this!

The whole point of the word is to make you feel motivated and powerful. So, what is your word? When you look back at how 2020 treated you, what is the word that you think of that strikes a feeling within you? I challenge you to bring that word into 2021 and ensure to use it to motivate yourself. Write it down at your work station, make it your phone screen saver, or just keep reminding yourself of why you chose the word.

I truly hope that 2021 is much kinder to us all. We can all let the fears go and know that we have new armor, a power word. Stay safe and be motivated! I shall continue to be resilient and I hope that you can too.

Follow Me:

Instagram

Facebook

Twitter

self help
3

About the Creator

Steven Rice

Growing up I had many visions of what I wanted to be when I grew up. At times I was relentless on becoming a Power Ranger or a writer. After thirty years, the path that seems most obtainable is becoming a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.