Motivation logo

What Is Motivation?

1. the act or an instance of motivating, or providing with a reason to act in a certain way 2. the state or condition of being motivated or having a strong reason to act or accomplish something 3. something that motivates; inducement; incentive

By Cezanne LibellenPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
5
What Is Motivation?
Photo by Randy Tarampi on Unsplash

These stories are submitted to Motivation- and they are supposed to give us motivation.

So, what is motivation?

As stated above, it is our drive, our goal.

Having a goal is good for your mental health. My motivation, my passion, my purpose is to write stories. And if I didn't have that, if I was in some communist country and I couldn't write, then I would have depression and perhaps anxiety.

Writing gives me something to focus on. Rather than get lost in my troubles, I apply those troubles to my characters and bury myself in their drama rather than my own.

I'd rather deal with someone else's drama rather than my own.

So this begs the question; what is your motivation, your dream, your passion?

Is it reading? Writing, like me? Photography? Spending time with family? Surrounding yourself with nature? Things that actually create joy?

Or, is it social media?

It is widely known that social media is the cause of a depression epidemic, among teens and adults. It raises the pleasure threshold so that you are hooked, always looking for that same happiness. It is created that way, designed to inveigle you and keep you searching for that dopamine high.

An interesting thing I learned today is that people who create social media don't let their kids use it. Think of it like a restaurant where the guy who founded and operates it will not let his loved ones eat there.

As Gen Z and Gen Alpha would say... that's sus.

(BTW, I am Gen Z, but I seldom use that phrase).

(Educated) Millennials would say they're disinclined to eat there.

Anyways, the point I'm getting at is that's not a healthy motivation.

Neither is a career unless it pertains to a hobby. If you are just "drill and kill" all the time, then you are going to become depressed and anxious a lot easier.

Find something- painting, sewing, reading, walking, sports, anything to keep you grounded. Something to give you character.

And it can literally be anything.

I have a lot of passions right now; my main passion is writing, followed by making friendship bracelets and doing makeup. And it isn't even just wearing it, it is about the art!!

If you have a passion, then you have something to invest in, and if you have something to invest in, then you are not going to find yourself wasting money or spending it on dangerous things like alcohol, drugs, or gambling.

Another thing... Your passion CANNOT be your social life.

Friends and dating are great in moderation. Humans are hardwired to be social. We need connection with other humans, but not in the way we have it CONSTANTLY today. If you thrive off of friends, boyfriends/girlfriends, and drama, then someday you will lose it because of the drama and you will find yourself with nothing.

You will be empty. You will be depressed. There will be nothing else to fill the void in your life.

I am not at all insinuating that you should boycott your friends and focus on crazy art stuff, but find other things that you can live for. Find an attainable goal to pair with it.

As I said already, we need social connections. But our social connections should not be all we have.

And here's another piece of advice.

Find someone who has a passion. If you are their only passion, then you should probably find someone else to date. Find someone who loves something, but find the happy medium. Make sure that you will be loved as much as their passion, or it might be awkward.

I'm going to recapitulate this for you.

Find something you love to do, that you're good at it, and set a goal with it. It is good for your mental health and it will build up your fortitude against mental illnesses if you find a purpose. Make sure that it is something healthy and find someone who has a hobby, a motivation, and a passion other than you.

I promise that as you find your motivation, you will excel in life

successself helphealinghappinessadvice
5

About the Creator

Cezanne Libellen

I am an ailurophile, xocolatophile, linguaphile, lexophile, and a bibliophile. Writing is my passion. I am currently working on a novel. Subscribe and share my stories if you want to see more of my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Bassam mukred12 months ago

    Very beautiful

  • Tsar Banks12 months ago

    I love your articles. keep it up

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.