Motivation logo

What I learned from…Marcus Aurelius

The king of Stoicism and 5 things I learned from a Diary that was never meant to be read.

By Robert WebbPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
5
A role model to role models.

“It is not death that a man should fear, but he should fear never beginning to live.” - M.A

Every story needs a beginning

Sometimes, if you are truly lucky enough, life hands you exactly what you need, exactly when you need it. Ironically enough a principle married with stoicism, having belief in the hands of fate and allowing them to shape you as you would a clay pot, is something I held on to before being graced by the philosophy itself.

The date is September 1st, 2014. I am boarding a plane to leave Scotland and fly to Canada to begin a new chapter of life. A friend, just days prior, gave me a copy of Meditation’s by Marcus Aurelius. I did not know who this man was, nor was I aware of stoicism other than the brief and momentary glimpse when someone in public mutters the well-known and colloquial “How Stoic” to describe a hard ass.

I'm sure Poseidon was a fucking stoic too.

“Do not act as if you were going to live ten thousand years. Death hangs over you. While you live, while it is in your power, be good.” - M.A

I had now clue whatsoever that I held in my hands a book that would change my life forever for the better. As I opened Marcus’ private diary, and filled my mind with his words, I began to change. The more I read, the more I understood. Each page brought with it further understanding, deeper meaning, more connection. I began to take a new shape, one that resembled that a humbled man who once felt led astray but since has found his way again.

Within these pages I found strength, emotional resiliency and the ability to understand human beings and the universe on a different level than before. One of reason and compassion and empathy. One that allowed me to truly feel the connection between each of us, the strength we all hold and the weight of our actions.

“Look well into thyself; there is a source of strength which will always spring up if thou wilt always look.” - M.A

The lessons

I want to show you, however brief, a glimpse of what I learned from Marcus Aurelius. First, a quick recap at who this man way.

Exceptional curls Marcus.

Marcus Aurelius was a Roman Emperor and Stoic Philosopher around 150AD. Although Marcus’ reign of Rome adds him to the Five Great Rulers he is most notably known for his ideas based on life and the philosophy of Stoicism. We don’t know if Marcus ever meant to share his writings but in todays age we have what is called “Meditations”, a collection of writings from Marcus that have been printed worldwide. A copy only costs around 10 buck and ranges in slightly different translations. Personally I prefer the Gregory Hays Translation. Anyway, lets get to the good stuff.

“Here is a rule to remember in future, when anything tempts you to feel bitter: not "This is misfortune," but "To bear this worthily is good fortune.” - M.A

This shit will get you stoic like a mountain.

Control

Marcus writes extensively about what to focus your energy on and writes there are only two things in which we can control. Our opinions and our actions. He writes that one should only care about these two things and should forgive all the rest, everything else that is not in our realm of control. He goes on to say that other peoples actions and thoughts and opinions are of no use to our focus.

Work

"At dawn, when you have trouble getting out of bed, tell yourself: “I have to go to work — as a human being. What do I have to complain of, if I’m going to do what I was born for — the things I was brought into the world to do? Or is this what I was created for? To huddle under the blankets and stay warm?” - M.A

Marcus taught me to get to work. He taught me that I have an allotted amount of time here on earth and that I do that which nature demands of me. Not to huddle under the blankets and stay warm but to get to work with my fellow human beings.

Writing

Marcus parried the Stoic belief of writing every day believing that if one wants to govern and rule their own kingdom, the one inside their head, than you will need to understand that which went on and how one can improve, continuously.

The scales of truth will always fall upon your shoulders.

Amor Fati

A love of fate. Marcus taught us that within everything there is an opportunity to choose the correct path. The correct path being that no matter the outcome; pain, hatred, joy, love, etc. We choose to love it, we choose to embrace it, and understand deeply that there is no nature without the interplay of good and bad alike.

Connection

"What injures the hive, injures the bee" - M.A

Marcus showed me that although I will come across horrible people in my day, selfish, greedy, nasty people, that they do not mean to be this way and that they only are because they are yet to see the difference between good and evil. He reminds us that we must be here to support our fellow humans as we are connected with them in ways we cannot see.

Everything is about perspective.

Afterthought

These are just some of the countless lessons I’ve learned. I’ve read the book some five times. And I’m always opening it up and learning more each time. More about myself, about value and honesty, and what is good and what is bad. I’ll keep reading it until I pass on from this life, and maybe one day I will write my own Meditations, based on all that I’ve learned.

Until then, thank you Marcus.

“Waste no more time arguing about what a good man should be. Be one.” - M.A

quotes
5

About the Creator

Robert Webb

Freelance writer.

I write about all walks of life, from fiction to non-fiction, self-help to psychology, travel to philosophy.

I like to bring a sense of humor to serious topics, a splash of philosophical thinking, and a dash of weirdness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.