Motivation logo

We all have shit we suck at.

What should we do about it?

By AceadiaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

We all have shit we suck at. We all have decisions we made that let down roads we wish we didn't have to go through. We all have embarrassing parts of our lives. Most of us have some area in our lives where we really feel like we need to get out shit together.

It's so easy to get down and hard on ourselves. Thinking we should've done better. Wishing we could change the past. Frustrated with how things are right now. 

But what if you asked yourself, "How can I use this?"

What if we just embraced it all and made it okay to suck? Not in a way where we stay there. Not in a way where we make low standards okay. Not in a way where we're giving up on ourselves.

But in a way where we don't waste our own time or energy.

You can spend forever frustrated at the past choices, or how things are now, or you can use that limited energy you do have to build on the new and maximize what you've already got going on.

I was registering for a dance class online, and in the description, it said for intermediate or advanced dancers. I thought oh I have four years of dance experience I can do it. 

WRONG.

I walked into class and it felt like everyone in there was like the fucking NFL of dancers and I was out here looking like a little league toddler. 

At the end of the class, we had to perform the dance in groups, and I was the only person in the room who was so lost it looked like I was having a seizure because I was just trying to catch up and act like I knew any part of the dance. 

I had flashes of embarrassment hit me, with a heated face and tension in my head. But then I more so had moments where I kind of just thought, holy shit this is okay.

I was so lost and I wasn't looking so good guys, but I thought... we all start somewhere though. We've all sucked at some point. No skyscraper just poofs out of mid-air. It all goes through the ugly infrastructure we see as construction. 

How can I use this?

Well... I CAN SUCK. AND IT CAN BE OKAY. And that gives me more freedom in life.

Suddenly doing things I was scared of before, felt less scary. Because I already looked bad. And it was okay. 

I was thankful I was the worst dancer in the room because it meant that I could only get better. I could grow so much easier and faster by just being around people that were much better than me in that area.I was about to be mad that I chose to take this class when there were other options, but then I thought NO. This was the best choice in that moment because now I have this great content to share with others. I can grow and make even better choices in the future, now that I know more.

Flashback to 2018. I had actually spent five months of my life doing nothing with my life. I would literally just sit in bed and sleep 12 hours a day. Then I would head to my job. It was nothing but sleep and work. I never went out. 

But that's okay. Because it led me to crave fun in life more. I then went to travel to six different cities in six months. I then went to explore the beautiful city of Chicago more. I then went to meet countless incredible people that have added such beautiful experiences to my life. 

Maybe it's all okay. Not to be stagnant, feel good or comfortable, but to open up the space for you to find out how to use what, "shouldn't have been" to create an even higher quality of life.

goals
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.