Motivation logo

Wants or Needs?

The Realisation

By Michelle PaulPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

In a world where coronavirus is the talk and we are all shut down from the normal busy lifestyle of ours, we get to thinking and understanding. For example, we might have not known that one of our family or friends were good at something. We make use of our time to do something productive. We get to understanding people more better and being far away from one another brings us closer.

And for me, I got to understand that many of the things I wanted wasn't things that I needed. During the lockdown, my uncle made me a foosball table with the meagre appliances available at home. Many things that I had needed before has become to me only wants. I learned to live with whatever I had and not to ask for more.

It does seem strange to see the roads look barren and empty without the usual Indian traffic. At the supermarket, I can only buy essentials and not something that I wanted. Surprisingly, I got used to not having everything that I needed, or in this case, wanted. It is a period of realisation for human beings. A time for change and transformation.

Instead of cursing the virus on social media, we can actually get together and turn ourselves for the better. Use this time for something good and productive. Try something new with no worries about the stats and the assignments and the projects. Baking, writing, reading, playing and most of all being together and conversing are things that take up our times in the lockdown.

We get to throw away our worries and talk to families and friends for real now. Doing daily chores to add up on my allowance was a fanatastic thing to do. I can only imagine what life would be like when the shutters of corona are opened, and life as we know gets back to normal. but we will be different, each and every one of us.

Of course, I miss my friends at school as we all do but what we need to keep in my mind is that, this time is for our good. We need to express our gratitude to the Corona Conquerors by staying home and whiling our time. Sacrifices are to be made to make the world a better place and because the conquerors are doing their bit about it, we should too.

Rather than seeing this as a burden, consider it a boon. Great plans need great sacrifices. But this virus is not one to be taken lightly, we should also fight against it... together. Let’s live long and prosper!!!

Signing off,

Michelle Paul

goals
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.