Motivation logo

Waking up at 4am everyday will change your life

24 hours in a day will start to feel like it!

By Jakayla ToneyPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@ianstauffer?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Ian Stauffer</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/mind?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

I know you're reading this and thinking, "What? How?"

It's actually very beneficial for so many reasons. Many talented artist and business people do this technique. It's not that hard to start honestly once you try your first day doing it.

I'm going to get in why you should do this.

For some people, 24 hours in a day doesn't seem like enough time. You could wake up at 8 or 10am to begin your day and before you know it, it's almost noon and you're stressing about school, work, and assignments!

However, waking up at 4am is different than waking up at 8am. Around 4am, nothing is happening. The Earth around you is still. So many people are sleeping and minding their business. It can feel like you have the whole world to yourself, and it DOES feel like that.

You immediatly wake up feeling stress free. Why? Aside from being sleepy, you feel that you have so much time ahead of you. You can get a lot of things done.

Studying becomes easier for you because you didn't start your whole day yet-you didn't wake up with all this stress and worry around you. Somethings we worry about commuting to work, or what's for breakfast or lunch, or when the next bus runs.

At 4am, you're not thinking too much about that. Your brain can focus better becuase it's almost free in a way.

When you're not worrying about 50 things, it becomes easier to learn something, to memorize something, to plan your day clearer, to create art or music, and to be motivated. And on top of that, you worry less about timing and being late for something.

Now you have this mindset that kind of makes you feel like you're ahead of everyone else. I don't mean that in an ego way, but more of a motivated way. I mean it's so quiet and the world around you finally slows down.

You're probably thinking you could never do this because you hate the mornings. I even hate the mornings! However, there are ways I can help my body get used to it. The first thing I do before bed is create my tomorrow goals. Have a list ready.

Set an alarm for 4am. When you get up, wash your face with cold water. It'll wake you up for sure!

Something that helped me is forcing myself to even get in the shower and put on clothes. But I don't always do that. There are days I stay in my pajamas just to use my laptop in bed. Start simple-just do the face wash.

Get a fruit or small snack with coffee or tea to help you get going. Grab your list and do small little task.

Once you get going, you'll realize you're thinking clearer and sometimes faster. I study WAY better at 4am than I do at noon or at night. By a landslide! I also store what I'm learning better.

Those ideas you had planned out for your business or that passage you needed to memorize for class will stick better.

Another thing you could do is study, read, or learn something new for an hour at 4am or 5am, then go back to sleep and study again later. You'll find that you cotained more of the knowledge plus more. Easy.

It really does take practice. Do it for a month. It takes 30 days to form a habbit (or something like that) You can find yourself doing so much more in life and finding more time for yourself the earlier you wake.

I studied Arabic in Egypt where my friends and people I knew had to wake up at 4am for prayer then they (we) would memorize pages of things around that time. It was easier for us to remember and memorize aroud that time vs any other time. Free minds=clearer thoughts.

For some, it could even change their mindset and life views. That feeling of having more time throughout the day can make your life so much better and less stressful.

Not everyone wants to do this and some people choose night over moring. That's fine too.

Also, if you have ADHD like me, this also helps a lot!

success
Like

About the Creator

Jakayla Toney

When not immersed in the realms of horror and mystery, I also work as a bartender in the bustling city of New York. You can find helpful articles on bartending, writing, and photography on my page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.