Motivation logo

Under the Cusp of Magic

A Tale of Self Discovery

By Azza AhmedPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

You might've guessed and searched Google after reading just my title... what is a Cusp?, Cusp of magic?, and What is that?

Let me introduce myself first. My name is Azza, and I am an unbelievably majestic combination of both magic and bizarre at the same time. Welcome to my world! What made me so profoundly gifted?, my zodiac sign. I'm sorry, I meant... my zodiac SIGNS. Yes... Being born on the same exact day, the same exact time the sun decided to 'change signs' has made me born with both signs of Gemini and Cancer.

Because of this 'gift,' my life has been nothing but a constant mental and emotional roller coaster ride.

I literally care for the good and bad characteristics of both signs. Imagine this, Geminis are fire and Cancers are water. What am I?, steam— I am officially steam.

It's funny, because I didn't know I was actually born under a Cusp til a couple months ago when I had an irrelevant conversation with my father, who also happens to be a Gemini, and only a Gemini. I ask my dad what he knows about his sign and he tells me all these things which he says are irrelevant to him: lying, double faced, and cheaters.

And then I say, "Well, thank God I'm a Cancer!" laughing sheepishly.

And he tells me, "Are you sure? I don't think you're a Cancer at all. In fact, I thought YOU were a Gemini!"

And I sit frozen there like lightning has struck me. I can't be a Gemini, that's not possible! I am a proud, emotional, and weird Cancer. But no, my dad just had to give me a once in a lifetime epiphany which struck me as brilliant. I asked, "Dad, is it possible to be two signs at the same time?"

And he stares at me confused, "Uhhh.. Maybe? I don't know. Search it up!"

Later that night, as I was sulking at the fact that the weather was a burning 86 degrees at 9 PM and there was no sign of ice cream in the freezer. I turned on the fan in the dining room and opened my laptop. Mental note: prepare for anything.

I start searching.

Me: Is it possible to be two signs at the same time?

Google: Pulls up an astrology page with a tarot reader who said: Yes! Being two signs at the same time, as rare as it can be, it is possible!

Me: Freaks out internally.

Google: Tarot card reader explains: People who are born in the same week as the sun decides to change signs are called being born under the Cusp! And there is this whole list of Cusp names and dates. There I am... Cusp of Magic: June 23, Gemini and Cancer.

Me: Internally screams. What am I supposed to do with this information? What am I supposed to do filled with all these "scarred for life" moments, decisions based upon my mixed emotions caused by my zodiac signs battling in my very mind and soul.

But then I started to breath. I started taking it all in. Wow, I am such an amazing combination of two totally different worlds apart... Inside one little tiny human being among 7 billion people who may be completely normal... or just plain different.

As I read more and more about my "newly discovered self," I begun to understand and appreciate everything about me. I am no longer confused about who am I and what I can achieve and accomplish. Additionally, learning about my flaws helped me accept who I really am. I'm loving my self in a whole new way.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Azza Ahmed

Hi there! Name's Azza. I'm 22 (surprisingly still alive). I'm both a Gemini and a Cancer. Consider me to be steam. Don't expect much out of me because I will knock you out with my high standards bar.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.