Motivation logo

U.S. freeskier Maggie Voisin Q+A: Two-time Olympian gets candid about grief

loss and finding motivation on the mountain

By Abhi KumarPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
U.S. freeskier Maggie Voisin Q+A: Two-time Olympian gets candid about grief
Photo by Renan Kamikoga on Unsplash

Experiencing childhood in Whitefish, Montana, put freeskier Maggie Voisin on an almost foreordained way to turn out to be an expert skier of some kind. It's a way she cherishes, incidentally, and one that she's upheld with a huge number of eminent outcomes during her almost 10-year profession on the U.S. Ski Group.

Since joining the U.S. group as a 15-year-old, Voisin's been named to three U.S. Olympic groups, and she's posted two top-five outcomes in freeski slopestyle in two Winter Games appearances, completing fourth in 2018 in PyeongChang and fifth in 2022 in Beijing, where she additionally positioned fifteenth in freeski huge air. She's scored 15 World Cup top 10s, including a slopestyle succeed at Mammoth in 2017 and five other platform completions, and she's contended in three big showdowns, keep two top 10s in huge air, setting 10th in Aspen in 2021 and eighth in 2019 at The Gullies (presently Park City Mountain) in Utah.

In front of her eleventh X Games appearance this week in Aspen, Colo., the double cross X Games gold medalist (she won the freeski slopestyle at Aspen 2018 and Norway 2020) talked with On Her Turf about the impending season, her blooming movie profession and returning from a line of tragic wounds — including breaking her right fibula during a preparation run at the 2014 Sochi Olympics when she was only 15. This week additionally denotes the two-year commemoration of her sibling Michael's passing by self destruction, and Voisin becomes sincere about her misfortune, the illustrations she's learned, and the point of view shift she encountered during her latest outing to the Olympics in Beijing.

On Her Turf: Heading into your eleventh X Games, might you at any point share a few generally contemplations about the occasion and how X Games affects you?

Maggie Voisin: It's truly difficult to really express, what X Games implies, particularly as an activity sport competitor. It's the zenith of activity sports, and since I was 12 years of age, it was my fantasy to be in the X Games. Furthermore, I'm right here, you know? My most memorable X Games was quite a while back, in 2014, and it's only insane to believe that my fantasy has worked out as expected. Furthermore, I've had the option to remember it many years. Thus, coming into Aspen, I generally attempt to clutch like that appreciation of how X Games has affected me as a youngster and how it's affected me all through my whole profession.

OHT: This is your most memorable contest since the Olympics last February… What did you deal with in the offseason and what could 2023 resemble for you?

Voisin: Last year was only a wild season. I was attempting to meet all requirements for the Olympics, I was likewise sort of two or three wounds. So intellectually, inwardly, truly, last year was a ton. I'm really appreciative. However, it was a great deal. This past offseason, I expected to set aside some margin to reset, and I was home in Montana. I put a hold on from preparing. Be that as it may, I began preparing again in September. … I would rather not go on vacation, however simply giving myself some reality [before heading] into this season. X Games will be my most memorable occasion of the time, and afterward ideally do a couple more World Cups. Yet additionally, I'm shooting this year for a ski film with one of my colleagues, Colby Stevenson, [freeskier] Tom Wallisch. It'll be a Decent Organization film. It'll be a blend of backwoods skiing, hitting hops, snowmobiling. I'm simply attempting to enhance my vocation and find myself mixed up with an entirely different world. Along these lines, this year is truly energizing.

OHT: I had noticed that there were no less than two movies that you're in this year, "Protesters" and "75 years." Might you at any point educate us somewhat more concerning your expanding movie profession?

Voisin: Truly, since my vocation began, I generally realize that I needed to film. … I've done a smidgen of shooting previously. In 2020, I did an individual task called "Swiftcurrent." I was in the middle among contending and for the most part boondocks skiing. That was my first-time little task, and I'm extremely, glad for it. For my purposes, it seemed like the genuine start of my movie profession. Yet, headed into the following quite a long while, it's something that I need to plunge into much more. It's an entirely different world, there's such a long way to go. I feel like a novice, which is enjoyable. It's enjoyable to feel like you're restarting in a very surprising manner.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.