Motivation logo

Truth Be Told: Honesty in a Big World

by: Nerissha Hunt

By Nerissha HuntPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Emotions are hard to control at times, especially our anger. But why are we so hateful and full of resentment? Let me break it down for you.

When we get angry, some of us will tell people the truth about the source of our anger but 80% of the time, we project our anger on someone else because we need a verbal punching bag. Notice I said verbal punching bag. We really let them have it as they say and the thing is, they don’t even know what’s going on. They get lost and confused because they think you are mad at them but your need to be mad at yourself for going off on an innocent person. Unless that person has done something to you, you are in the wrong.

Hatred is a dangerous emotion. It tears up families, it tears up marriages and it tears up friendships. Those words are so powerful and we all have hatred for someone or something. A lot of us experience things that makes us hate people (domestic violence, victims of murdered family members), etc. so I cant speak on that.

I’m referring to hatred for no reason. What is so good about them? I cant get a new car, how did they get one? They have a new house and I been living in the same one all my life. I could go on and on. Material possessions take over some people’s minds and it makes no sense because no one has ever been buried with the title to a new car, or the deed to a house.

Resentment is also something that tears up families, friendships, relationships and marriages. People hold grudges against one another and I don’t understand. Some people can get mad at someone and hold a grudge for years and I have heard people say “I’ll take it to my grave.” People sometimes will die with the same resentment in their heart as they did when they were living.

One reason why people hold grudges is money. When people owe you money, you can remind them but, and truth be told, we are all guilty of it, if you constantly nag someone about owing you money, there are 2 reasons why they won’t pay you. First reason, they don’t have the money, which is far and in between or 2, they never intended to pay you back in the first place. Just keeping it real.

But hatred and resentment are two emotions that people express the most. I’ll be honest, I have said that I hate people. I have had resentment in my heart. But then I asked myself, what am I gaining by hating this person? What is the point? There is no point because the time and energy you are wasting on hating someone can be used for the greater good. Life is short so spend your time wisely.

I said that resentment tears up a lot of bonds but I’m going to touch on family because it’s a subject that needs to be talked about. It’s sad that it takes death to bring everyone together. Sorry to say it but it’s true. Family reunions aren’t what they used to be; people choose who they want to deal with in the family. It shouldn’t be that way but unfortunately it is.

People in families hold grudges, serious grudges. Sometimes, it comes down to fighting. Everyone has their differences, opinions and feelings about one another. Family is supposed to work together, not against each other. But, we all know that things don’t work that way anymore.

I end my story on this note: Hatred is one thing, resentment is another. Combining the two is like setting a fire but you control the flame.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Nerissha Hunt

Writing is not a talent; it's a gift. My stories are transparent. Not fact, not fiction. They are in a category to themselves.

You never know what to expect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.